Skip to content

PSA: Diaryland down

March 15, 2010

As some of you know, I moved over here when I got frustrated with all the outages at diaryland. Today, when I was looking for a back entry, I discovered that the entire site is gone. I hope it’s temporary. It appears that Andrew failed to renew his domain name. But in case it’s not, I’m in a mad panic backing up any back entries that I can reach through caching before they disappear — something I should have done a long time ago. I know some of you may be in the same boat, so I thought I’d issue a public service announcement.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:55 am

    Doesn’t surprise me. I saved all mine to a document of some kind when I switched to WP. So, mine are all safe though I think the entries have all kinds of web code attached to them.

  2. March 15, 2010 8:38 am

    Oh, good gravy….my business domain is set for auto renew. No fuss, no muss.

  3. Herenya permalink
    March 15, 2010 8:41 am

    Yep, I’m in that boat… and desperately hoping it is temporary. There’s more gaps in my backups than I had thought. :-/

  4. The Lass permalink
    March 15, 2010 9:14 am

    I saved all mine to disk when I abandoned ship a few years ago, but thanks for the heads-up.

  5. Eleanor permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:06 am

    I backed up all mine when I gave up my super gold membership (although I lost the ones I’d put in a folder) in order to save the comments. I continue to do so, even now that I’ve moved here. Good luck!

  6. Eleanor permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:10 am

    Just checked, Diaryland seems to be alive and well without even a news update explaining the downtime.

  7. March 15, 2010 10:22 am

    It’s still not working for me. Are you sure you’re not looking at a cached file? It’s taking me to a dummy page and saying that the owner hasn’t renewed the domain name. All links to my diaryland posts are dead.

  8. March 15, 2010 10:46 am

    Still dead as a doornail to me.

  9. readersguide permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:27 pm

    Yikes.

  10. March 15, 2010 7:45 pm

    You know, I never did back mine up. But that’s probably just as well. 🙂

  11. March 16, 2010 10:59 am

    I was able to access it briefly yesterday, and there was a news update from Andrew saying they’d had some “DNS trouble” and that it had all been resolved but that the site might still be down for a little while for some people but not for everyone. Today I can’t access it anymore…

Leave a Reply

