Skip to content

This tornado loves you

March 22, 2010

Weekends are rapidly becoming tornados, sucking me in and whirling me around and leaving me out on the street on Monday morning, dazed and not entirely sure where I’ve been.

Friday was a spectacularly gorgeous day, warm and sunny, no jackets required. The last of the enormous pile of snow on the driveway, the one I thought would be there until June, melted before noon. Crocuses were everywhere.

I spent the afternoon in the school library watching kids play on the playground out the window. On my way out, I was waylaid by the music and art teachers who wanted to talk about the cuts and the Board of Ed. It kills me that these teachers are leaving. They are incredibly talented and dedicated. They have both been in the district for decades. They are both over 50 and finding themselves looking for new jobs.

I went to School of Rock to teach, but my one Friday student didn’t show, so I left early. The nice thing about no shows at School of Rock as opposed to no shows when I teach privately is that I get paid anyway. Friday night, I took AJ to his Cub Scout pack meeting, which was unusually short and relatively painless.

Saturday we woke to a couple of inches of snow on the ground and more coming down — I’d guess we had about 5 inches by nightfall, when the snow finally stopped. I ducked out to do some shopping for AJ’s birthday in the morning. After I got back, AJ and I made sugar cookies and sushi (cucumber rolls) for his lunch as the wind howled around the house. We haven’t cooked together in a long time. It was fun and a cozy way to spend the morning. In the afternoon, AJ went to a friend’s house and I attempted to work, but ended up taking an impromptu nap, which was lovely.

Sunday was all action. We all overslept a little somehow but managed to get the house and ourselves straightened up in time for 11:00 Mass, which Mr. Spy really wanted to attend. However, the Mass was incredibly long (for no good reason) and we ended up cutting out at the 1.5 hour mark when it still wasn’t over. We barely had time to finish cleaning the house and shopping for AJ’s family birthday party. AJ was beyond excited and he got many cool things. His favorites, I think, are The Encyclopedia of Immaturity from one of his aunts, which has already provided hours of fun, and a “Bucket o’ Soldiers” from me. He had been asking about green plastic army men and it proved alarmingly difficult to find them. When I was a kid, we could buy a bag of 50 for 50 cents at any drug store. But the only ones I could find around here came in a bucket with a certificate of authenticity, which states that the army men were careful facsimiles of the army men in the movie Toy Story. Last night, after I tucked AJ into bed, he said, “You should play with my army guys while I’m at school. They’re really fun.” Tempting, but I wouldn’t have the heart to disturb them. After breakfast, AJ built a fort out of sofa cushions and the trunk that serves as a coffee table in our family room. There is an elaborate scene of a military manoeuvre of some sort in there. Unless Mrs. Stein decides to stage an invasion, they will be there when he gets home.

After school today, while I’m at School of Rock, AJ will be on a field trip to a chocolate shop. Life is good when you’re almost nine.

And now I must think about dissertations and taxes and vacation, which is almost here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 22, 2010 11:14 am

    Field trip to a chocolate shop! Wow, how lucky can you get?

  2. March 22, 2010 11:19 am

    I’ll tell you how lucky: his birthday on Thursday also happens to be International Waffle Day, which means waffles for hot lunch. He is very excited about the week ahead.

  3. Eleanor permalink
    March 22, 2010 1:28 pm

    Thank you, Harriet. Now I know what to do with all of Buddy Boy’s army guys. *big grin*

  4. March 22, 2010 9:44 pm

    I say skip everything else and go straight to vacation.

  5. March 23, 2010 1:13 pm

    There’s something really sweet about AJ loving his army men so much, and also his offering to let you play with them. I remember M at just this age — she was excited about turning 9, but didn’t want 8 to feel bad about her plunging ahead without it. She wrote “8 is great! Nine is fine!” and left it on the rocking chair the night before her 9th b’day. What a nut.

  6. March 23, 2010 1:23 pm

    Julia, if only I could. But vacation will be much better if I can get it done first. Readersguide, AJ is not having that particular issue. When I was tucking him in after his party, I said, “goodnight, almost-nine-year-old.” “You can just call me nine,” he said. “I’ll be nine in a few days anyway.”

    “I’m not ready to call you nine.”

    “Why not?”

    “I like eight. I want you to be eight a little longer.”

    “But what if nine is even better?”

    What if indeed.

Leave a Reply

