Skip to content

post (modern)

April 6, 2010

The tornado siren is going off as it does, like clockwork, at 10:00 a.m. on the first Tuesday of the month. I love that my son regularly worries about what happens if a tornado actually hits at 10:00 a.m. on the first Tuesday of the month. It’s just the kind of thing I wonder about myself.

It is a bit like a tornado hit around here. I came back from vacation straight into the fray. We arrived home Saturday night. Sunday was, of course, Easter, which involved a visit from a certain rodent lagomorph of our acquaintance who seems dead set on doing his part to contribute to the American obesity problem. In the afternoon, we drove to my brother- and sister-in-law’s house for Easter dinner and we rolled home around 8 p.m. feeling quite logy.

Yesterday, though, there were piles of laundry (hung on the line!) and a backlog of mail and phone calls and a meeting with the school district’s director of curriculum.

I have to say that as depressing as all the things happening in our district are, it’s also kind of exciting to see our ideas being looked at and considered. A couple of months ago, one of the board of ed members had emailed me after I spoke at a meeting to tell me that once before they’d looked at bringing in a gifted program from outside the district. Our local community college runs a program for gifted kids that is quite reasonable (being paid for, in part, by our taxes), so I contacted them, got them hooked up with the school district, and waited. Yesterday they came and met with a group of us parents. The possibilities are interesting and the school district foundation may be able to help subsidize it to keep it affordable for all families. We were able to stress the importance of bringing these programs into our school buildings so families with two working parents could take advantage of them. But the conversations ranged farther than that to discussions about what our kids needed at school that they weren’t getting, about the problem of gifted education being something extra instead of what is, so that children have extra work and less free time and sometimes feel persecuted. We talked about trying to work with some of the wonderful teachers who will be laid off at the end of the year. People told stories about the best teaching moments they’ve seen in their schools.

There are a lot of good things here. But I still can’t get past 34 kids in a class.

Among the emails awaiting me was one from the director of an area gifted school who’d seen the article that quoted me in the local paper a week and a half ago and wanted to remind me that their school addresses my concerns. Hmm.

And now, back to dissertating. I am always already behind.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 10:30 am

    I take exception to “rodent.” The Easter bunny, like the pika, is a lagomorph. 🙂

  2. April 6, 2010 10:36 am

    I stand corrected! Clearly I need some remedial biology.

  3. April 6, 2010 2:23 pm

    It’s hard to get back to work after a holiday. Especially as the weather continues fine.

  4. April 6, 2010 10:37 pm

    You’re famous! Ish? If only that would ever fix anything?

  5. lemming permalink
    April 7, 2010 3:23 pm

    I hear you about the 34. It is obvious that this economic mess will not abate any time soon, but we continue to cut education as though it will. After all, the baby boomer medical care is the biggest issue we face… all else must give way….

    on a lighter note, I am still laughing about the raccoons, thanks.

Leave a Reply

