Skip to content

Rock science

April 9, 2010

The sleet has stopped, the sun is out, and everyone is feeling better, although AJ is still a little grumpy about the cancellation of yet another baseball practice. The season started 4/1 and they have yet to get a practice in. It looks like tomorrow’s the day, though. It’s supposed to be sunny and 68, so barring earthquakes or volcanoes sprouting in the night, we should be good to go.

There is no question that a nine-year-old boy lives in my house. There is a pair of brand spanking new baseball cleats, size youth 2 in the front hall. There are three arrowheads on my kitchen table, where they were abandoned after AJ found something more interesting to put in his pocket to take to school. A platoon of green plastic army men has invaded the family room and has set up camp in the shadow of the coffee table, off of which paratroopers take training jumps. The floor of AJ’s room is currently littered with boxes of rocks and fossils and books about rocks and minerals. The rock he was using to conduct scratch tests on his other rocks is still sitting on the floor, the relics of an early morning project inspired by a recent read, Sundee T. Frazier’s Brendan Buckley’s Universe and Everything in It (review forthcoming).

I love mornings like this when AJ gets up with something he wants to know and goes after it. A lot of school mornings are not like this. A lot of school mornings are spent with him dragging his feet about another day in a class where someone is teaching him things he already knows. It’s mornings like this where I understand the whole philosophy of unschooling. I was half tempted to take him out of school today and drive to Evanston for a visit to Dave’s Down to Earth Rock Shop or to the Field Museum to look at their mineral exhibit. AJ has a burning desire to see an opal in person and I haven’t got one handy.

But today Mr. Spy and I have to go to school too. I’m doing my bi-weekly stint in the school library this afternoon. Mr. Spy is going in to talk to AJ’s class, which uses one of his books as part of their curriculum. This morning at breakfast, Mr. Spy wouldn’t tell AJ what he was talking about in class so it would be a surprise. It was driving AJ crazy. So now he’s really looking forward to the visit, I think.

What are you doing today?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 1:16 pm

    After a spectacularly unproductive work portion of the day, I am “looking forward” to driving an hour to a soccer field and sitting outside in the cold watching a game, and then driving an hour back in the dark on rural roads.

  2. April 9, 2010 3:44 pm

    We’re on spring break and home from four days in the GA mountains. Today was a field trip to the botanical gardens with my parents. Tomorrow, planting some of the plants growing (temporarily, while awaiting homes) in my garage. Still have 6 doz. iris to give away. Want any? I already mailed some to Minnesota!

  3. April 9, 2010 3:50 pm

    My condolences, Jeanne. Jill, I would love it. I’ve got a marshy area in my backyard that irises love.

  4. freshhell permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:13 pm

    Well, more like what I did, at this point. A lot of nothing. All plans fell through so I did laundry, puttered, tidied. The girls cleaned up play spaces, Red made a stepping stone from a kit she got at Xmas, computer games were played, we visited the library and a new thrift store. It was a sunny but chilly day and none of us felt like being outside, esp after a week of summer-like weather. Now, Dusty’s at a sleepover which will bleed into another birthday party tomorrow that Red will attend as well. No children in the house tomorrow until 2pm! What will I do?

  5. April 10, 2010 10:34 am

    It’s pretty cool that Mr. Spy is part of the curriculum. I would have liked to do some Unschooling yesterday too, that was some nice weather.

  6. April 10, 2010 11:14 am

    Freshhell, enjoy your day. I’ve got an evening to myself tonight, but I fear the only reward I get will be trying to finish the taxes. Julia, I agree wholeheartedly about the weather. The only consolation is that today is even better and it’s the weekend. Time to dig out the new part of my vegetable garden.

  7. crankygirl permalink
    April 10, 2010 4:58 pm

    I’m caring for a newborn and searching for the smile that the book says she should be giving me soon. She spends a lot of time feeding and sleeping.

    Hi!

  8. April 10, 2010 6:11 pm

    Hi! I’m going to call you later when I have the house to myself!

Leave a Reply

