Skip to content

Undersea

April 12, 2010

I wrote a post over the weekend. Really, I did. I have no idea what happened to it. The post or, for that matter, the weekend. I remember mostly that it was sunny and beautiful and I was out in the garden when I should have been finishing my taxes. On Saturday, I added another 10 square feet to my vegetable bed and regretted it the next morning when I could barely move my arms.

AJ finally squeezed in his first baseball practice on Saturday afternoon when it was 70 and sunny. It was a perfect day for it. I felt a little bit guilty for blowing it off, but the garden was calling.

Yesterday, I spent a large chunk of the day at a wedding shower for the son and daughter-in-law-to-be of one of Mr. Spy’s cousins. I hadn’t especially been looking forward to it, mainly because it was a haul to get there and it took up 5 hours of prime weekend time (including the driving). But it was fun to see all of Mr. Spy’s cousins and cousins-in-law, who are all very nice and fun people to be around. The bride and groom are incredibly young, but lovely people. The bride has a genuinely bubbly personality without being overly perky. It was impossible not to like her. I spent a fair amount of time chatting with her maid-of-honor, who is a music teacher. Afterwards, I caught the last half an hour of AJ’s second baseball practice of the season, a scrimmage with another team. I got to see him hit a line drive and pitch for a while. I both love and hate watching AJ pitch. He looks so little on the mound, but looks like he knows what he’s doing when he pulls back his arm. Those things I love. I hate the tension, though, and the way he beats himself up whenever he makes a mistake. This is the first year kids pitch and I’m impressed that he even gets up there, because he really doesn’t like being in the spotlight in that way. But he is absorbed when he’s pitching and it doesn’t bother him. And he does as well as anyone out there. It makes him crabby when he lets someone get to the base, though.

Today I am going at a frenetic pace to get everything done, especially the taxes. I may just stay up tonight until they’re done, as I’d really like to get downtown tomorrow night to attend a reception for the president of my alma mater, at whose home I dined a couple of months ago, and a panel discussion on alumnae in the arts, of which, I suppose, I am one. Although if I do that I need to find someone to cover chess club for me. Hmm. Maybe I need to rethink this. My schedule this week makes me want to crawl back into bed and pull the covers up over my head.

And now, back to the taxes. Ugh.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:51 pm

    Can you not twist Mr. Spy’s arm and make him go to chess club? I feel your tax pain. I hate it which is why I get it done in February. I have to be rid of it as fast as possible. I know that doesn’t make you feel any better – mine are much less complicated than yours. But, I’ll drink a beer in your honor tonight. How’s that?

  2. April 12, 2010 3:35 pm

    I feel your tax pain. I am in the throes of doing mine as well. I hate nothing quite as much as doing my taxes.

Leave a Reply

