Skip to content

You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

April 15, 2010

The taxes are done. That’s the best I can say about them. Although that’s a pretty good thing. All in all, I’d say I spent close to 80 hours over the last month putting it all together and I’m still not 100% sure I didn’t make a mistake. It was not a good year for us and yet there are still checks to write. That’s insult to injury. But as a friend reminded me today, the taxes do pay for things we want, need and use and it helps maintain those things for everyone. Just the same, I’m feeling this year like we are paying more and more and getting less and less. I resented every penny I gave to the state of Illinois which is taking out its financial mismanagement on those who can least afford to lose its support.

I’ve been so miserable and stressed out about them that I haven’t been able to enjoy the incredible weather we’re having or all the flowers that are popping up everywhere. So I’ve given myself the afternoon off. I’ll be puttering in the garden shortly. It’s 76 and sunny and the air smells of lilacs and magnolias. I’m hoping that dropping some seeds in the ground will restore my humor, if not my bank account.

Also supporting the restoration of my humor are the birds, which are out in full-throated force. For the first time since we’ve lived here, some red-winged blackbirds seem to have taken up residence in the grasses behind the stream. They are plentiful in this neighborhood, but I usually have to walk down towards the river and the open pasture of tall grass to hear them. Nothing sounds more like summer to me.

Tonight we are heading to AJ’s piano recital. He is losing his enthusiasm for piano and thus hasn’t been putting in a whole lot of effort, but I can’t say that won’t be proud to hear him play a little Beethoven tonight.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 3:03 pm

    Turbo Tax is great! Yes there is still work to be done, but that product is well worth it!

  2. April 15, 2010 3:17 pm

    I love Turbo Tax. I’ve used it since it first came out. It’s the only reason I have not gone stark raving mad. But it’s still a lot of work. And I actually found it to be a little buggy this year. But still, way better than the alternative.

  3. April 15, 2010 3:53 pm

    i threw up my hands after a session with turbo tax, and sent everything to my accountant. well, the office’s accountant, who basically did me a favor. and honestly? i think he did a better job than turbo tax, not just because the bill came out lower, but because there was some complicated stuff…

  4. April 15, 2010 4:11 pm

    I got my taxes mailed off today as well, and my marks handed in, so I’m feeling very smug. Buddy Boy lost enthusiasm for piano as well, at about the same age that AJ’s at right now. Or maybe he was a bit older. In any case, guitar suits him. But that early piano training was a good basis for what came next.

  5. April 15, 2010 8:11 pm

    It was a lovely day. I am hoping the weather stays nice for the weekend, when I can actually enjoy it. Sorry about the taxes. I guess the alternative is getting a refund, which means you haven’t had the use of your money all year?

  6. April 15, 2010 8:35 pm

    I had fully intended to use an accountant this year, but that would have required sitting down in February to get the damned things done. And unfortunately, I had a paper to give in February and another even longer paper to give three weeks later and then we left town, so while I actually did start them early, I wasn’t able to get them done. Every year, though, I vow to reform. Even if we used an accountant, though, I’m pretty sure I’d need TurboTax to get our stuff in order. Eleanor, I’m hoping to keep him in piano for at least another year. For one thing, he’s very talented at it and he does like it when he’s doing it. He just doesn’t like sitting down in the basement and practicing when all his friends are outside playing. I know just how he feels. But there will be no music at his school next year and I think the piano’s important. Julia, thanks for the sympathy and that’s exactly right. If you’re self-employed and getting a refund, you are doing it wrong.

Leave a Reply

