Skip to content

Rated PG

April 21, 2010

Last night I dreamed I was cooking. I don’t think I’ve ever dreamed about cooking before. Also unusual was the house I was living in. Usually in dreams my houses are large and rambling with lots of dark rooms that I have not yet discovered that turn out to be full of strange objects and clutter. In last night’s dream, however, I was living in a small but beautiful vintage bungalow, full of windows and light. And I cooked an entire meal, one dish at a time in my tiny, but well-appointed kitchen which opened into the tidy living room that seemed to be the only room in the house. First I roasted a chicken with garlic and herbs. Then I decided to make a pot of polenta with cheese. This took a lot of slow stirring with a wooden spoon. Then I sauteed some spinach with olive oil and a little garlic. I woke up before it was finished, so I did not get to eat it or serve it, although I think I was alone in the house. I woke up with a vague sense of anxiety about the meal turning out okay, but my overall sense was that it was a good place to be.

I am thinking I may make roast chicken and polenta on Friday.

It’s yet another gorgeous sunny day. We are getting quite used to it. And even better, AJ’s school had a half day today, so the kids are running around the neighborhood yelling happily.

Because it’s so beautiful, naturally what AJ wants to do is go sit in a dark room. But he won two free movie passes for being his school’s biggest fundraiser for the American Heart Association and he wants to take his friend The Boy Across the Street to see The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, which neither of them has seen yet. But it’s not time to go yet, so the two of them are in AJ’s room making belching and farting sounds while building forts and other things to blow up out of Legos. Because, you know, they are third-grade boys.

Tonight, AJ has a baseball game, but I’m planning to bow out in favor of pulling a few weeds and doing some writing and maybe just staring at the sky or the weeds flowering in our lawn so it looks like a meadow.

And also, there’s a new post up at AJ’s Clubhouse on online art resources. Please read and add suggestions!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 6:12 pm

    “…the two of them are in AJ’s room making belching and farting sounds while building forts and other things to blow up out of Legos. Because, you know, they are third-grade boys.”

    I think I know them. Do either of them live in my house?

  2. freshhell permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:23 am

    It’s really not fair that you made a meal (even in a dream) that you never got to eat but that’s dreams for you.

    If I think of any online art sites, I’ll let you know.

  3. April 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    I really hate it when someone in a movie makes a meal and no one ever gets to eat it, too. That happened with the stewed rabbit in one of the LOTR movies.

  4. April 22, 2010 12:38 pm

    See, I see “movies” and “stewed rabbit” and I think “Fatal Attraction.” That’s one meal I could have done without.

  5. readersguide permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:02 pm

    Once again your post has made me hungry. And I hate that too, Jeanne! It’s horrible! Also in the Gilmore Girls they are forever ordering meals and then leaving before they can possibly have eaten them. It bugs me.

  6. April 22, 2010 2:11 pm

    But readersguide, how else would they stay so skinny?

  7. readersguide permalink
    April 22, 2010 5:43 pm

    You’re absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

