Skip to content

A family of trees wanting to be haunted

April 26, 2010

So I tried the Freedom program again this morning and I finished another chapter and a half — that’s three in the can now, for those who are keeping score. Although in fairness, I’ve started with the most polished chapters. Some of them will go more slowly.

Psychologically, this program is totally working for me. It’s not so much that it shuts off distractions, but that it’s made me much more aware of how I tend to work — how I tend shift back and forth between activities instead of just sitting with one thing for a while. When I hit a wall, I’ll go check my email or look something up on the internet. I can’t do that so easily now and my work is the better for it. And the fact that it times me has made me feel like I need to be more focused and work faster. I’m still feeling my way through the new routine, but right now, the rules are: work for three hours straight; on all days but Wednesday (when I have a morning yoga class), those hours will be roughly 9-12 (today it was more like 9:30-12:30); after that, I have to get up and do something else. If I’ve been productive, I can call it a day for the diss if I want to. I wish I’d figured out this routine a long time ago. I hope it sticks.

Today, I worked my three hours, made some lunch, went out and planted some vegetables and pulled some weeds, practiced violin and made dinner before pedaling off to teach. On the way home, I stopped by the baseball fields to watch AJ’s baseball game. By the end of the third inning, they were down 15-7, but in the fourth, they scored 6 runs and were so excited that they probably could have won, if the game hadn’t been called for darkness. But the boys didn’t care. They still felt like they’d won.

And now I’m sitting down trying to fill out the form I file every year to request curriculum modifications for AJ next year. It depressed me to take out the parts about the classroom teacher working with the gifted teacher. But, since there will be no gifted teacher next year, it had to be done. I’m trying to figure out how to say “don’t put him in a mixed grade 3 and 4 class because that would be a disaster and I will make your lives miserable” without sounding snotty. But it would be a disaster and I would be the world’s biggest pain in the ass about it.

And on a completely unrelated note, I am loving this ukulele cover of MGMT’s “Kids.” You could play almost anything with that many ukuleles and you would have my attention.

For comparison, here is the original, which I also like:

As far as I can tell, this is the only song The Ooks of Hazzard recorded and released into the wild. I hope it won’t be their last. I wonder if they take requests. Lass, they’re from your neck of the woods. I’m putting you on reconnaissance duty.

One Comment leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:53 am

    The whole school thing is depressing. I am not sure Red’s teacher will be back next year due to budget cuts. I’m not sure what that will mean. The only teacher I want to avoid is one of the awful 2nd grade teachers. But that’s next year’s worry. I do hope that, if they axe her teacher, they’re able to keep as many of Red’s classmates together as possible. She’s so slow to make friends that I’d hate for them to be broken up into different classrooms.

Leave a Reply

