Skip to content

The sun is not sunny

May 13, 2010

The title of this post is something of an understatement. It has been raining for several days, on and off, but nothing terribly serious. It was looking fairly ominous yesterday afternoon when Mr. Spy and AJ went to their baseball practice. I stayed home to make enchiladas and peeked regularly at the skylight for signs of rain. But the rain didn’t start falling again until after they got home. And then came the thunder and lightning. And then came the serious rain.

I don’t know exactly how much rain we got, but from what I can see from my window, I’d say it must have been raining hard all night long. The stream is as high as I’ve ever seen it. It has covered up one of my flowerbeds. My irises are now in its middle. And its about to reach the large box elder. The stream is nearly at the level of the pipe that runs from under our foundation, where there is another stream underground, to the back of the yard. Normally it is several feet about the water. But from the basement, I can now hear its rushing, echoing along the pipe and back into our sump pit, which is in the room next to my office. But the basement is bone dry. The water level in the pit hasn’t risen at all and even if it did, the emergency pump should take it out again.

At around 4 a.m., another thunderstorm rolled in. AJ came in and asked me to come in his room for a while — he doesn’t like to stay in ours, because our cathedral ceilings and the skylight in our bathroom mean the rain is extra loud. I dragged my sleepy self in and curled up at the foot of his bed for a while until he started to doze off. When I came back, Mr. Spy had moved down to the guest room to sleep. I crawled back into bed and closed my eyes. Then I heard it: drip. drip. Barely audible over the sound of the rain pounding on the roof. I turned on the light, found a small bucket in the bathroom, stuck it over the wet patch of carpet, stuffed in some earplugs, and tried to go back to sleep.

Here is what I learned: 1) Earplugs are good at drowning out rain on the roof. 2) They don’t even take the edge off the sound of dripping.

So I’ve pretty much been up since 4.

Really, it wasn’t so very much water. Maybe a half a cup over 6 hours. It seems to have stopped now. I’m fairly certain this is fallout from raccoons marauding the caulk on the skylights. I think it’s seeping around the edge and dripping out the bedroom canister light. Hopefully it will be a quick fix. But it’s a reminder that we do need a new roof and new skylights sometime in the not-too-distant future.

I am beginning to hate this house.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    May 13, 2010 11:18 am

    Yes, I have recently learned that ear plugs get rid of some noises but not the noise you want to not hear: snoring (the reason for those ear plugs), dripping water. They seem, in fact, to amplify the very noises you wish to not hear.

    I hear you on the house hatred. There’s comes a point when enough is just enough. Time for it to be someone else’s problem. Maybe when you recaulk you can mix in something that tastes bad or a deterent like ground glass/chicken wire – something that will keep the marauders from destroying it again.

  2. May 13, 2010 11:21 am

    Your house sounds grand–cathedral ceiling! skylight! But it’s easy to see why you can feel let down by a shelter that’s not completely sheltering you from the weather.

  3. freshhell permalink
    May 13, 2010 11:34 am

    The bathroom off the master bedroom doesn’t even have a window. When there’s a storm outside, I am glad of this. The rest of the time, it makes me crazy. Who builds a bathroom without a window for christ’s sake?

  4. Eleanor permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:25 pm

    Ear plugs only seem to amplify the sound of my own blood rushing around in my head, sadly. Although they do make life bearable when my husband breaks out the Les Paul and cranks up the volume to 11. I hear you on the house business, too.

  5. May 13, 2010 10:23 pm

    When I think of your house, all I can think of is your terrific kitchen & family room, but the leaky skylight sounds like a tremendous drag. Sorry to hear it.

  6. May 13, 2010 10:23 pm

    Man, that new gravitar is ugly.

  7. May 13, 2010 10:46 pm

    Freshhell, as far as I can tell, earplugs work for higher frequencies, but not for lower frequencies (like snoring; or dripping into a bucket). Surely this could be remedied somehow? Since the original raccoon incident, we’ve had good luck with Repel granules. The raccoons have not returned to the roof and after I sprinkled it, to test it, around a flower bed full of tempting tulips that I have never once seen bloom in the 8 years that we’ve lived here, they came up and bloomed for over a week and were never even nibbled.

    Jeanne, it is not at all grand. It maybe could be a little grander if it didn’t need so many things and we could spend some money on fun stuff. But the skylights are nice in principal. And in fairness, the rain we had last night was beyond extreme. I wonder if the earplugs will drown out the sound of the raging stream, which is still at a roar even with the doors and windows shut tight.

    Freshhell, we have one windowless bathroom too — it’s AJ’s. And that’s what I thought too — why would you have a bathroom without a window? On the other hand, why waste a view on the toilet?

    Eleanor, I have a bit of that problem with earplugs too. But there are times when they are useful, nonetheless.

    Jared, that is indeed one creepy gravatar. I don’t think I’ve seen that one before.

  8. freshhell permalink
    May 14, 2010 7:52 am

    My issue with a windowless bathroom is not so much the view but the ability to air it out. Esp after steamy baths or….poo.

Trackbacks

  1. My world and welcome to it

Leave a Reply

