Skip to content

Weekend bulletin

May 16, 2010

• I planted a lot of edible things (strawberries, lettuce, arugula, chard, more tomatoes, broccoli) and some assorted flowers, which are probably not edible. I also transplanted some of my herbs from their indoor winter pots into their more capacious outdoor summer planters.

• I weeded a lot of things. I mean A LOT. I lost count of the number of trips I took to the compost heap with a wheelbarrow piled high. And you know what? The yard is still full of weeds.

• I finally identified the pretty white stealth flower that appeared on the side of the stream a few years ago and which seems to be spreading.

• The stream is finally back within its boundaries after this week’s crazy rainstorm, and is running crystal clear. In my attempts to peek inside to assess the erosion damage, I scared many small frogs out of the grasses at the water’s edge.

• I moved all the pots outside for what I hope is the last time until I bring them back in again in the fall.

• I attended two baseball games in which AJ played. Alas, his team lost both, but a good time was had by all anyhow.

• We played mini-golf on Saturday and I only partially humiliated myself. I tried to work up the courage to step into the batting cage but I discovered that I am still a chicken when a ball is speeding towards my head at 75 miles an hour.

• We determined that we will attempt to hold AJ’s long delayed birthday party on the last day of school. It will be our first time ever hosting a party for his friends at our house. I am terrified. It had better be sunny.

How was your weekend?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 8:00 pm

    Just happened upon your blog – thought you’d like to read one of my entires about Harriet M. Please go to http://marblecopybook.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/harriet-the-spy/

    So good to meet another spy 🙂

  2. eleanorio permalink
    May 16, 2010 9:59 pm

    Bluesy!

  3. freshhell permalink
    May 17, 2010 8:29 am

    I posted my garden plot after also doing copious amounts of weeding, planting and transplanting. Then, I saw a lot of movies.

  4. May 17, 2010 9:03 am

    All chess, all the time. We laughed about finally meeting Walker’s Serbian chess teacher in person on Saturday–Walker had told some of his friends that he was going to see a 40-year-old man he’d met over the internet!

  5. May 17, 2010 9:13 am

    Exhausting! And we won the playoff game so there is still more baseball to come. School is out Friday. We are ready to rest.

  6. May 17, 2010 1:41 pm

    I had a lovely weekend – full of errands and plants and good food. And a fire truck parade.

  7. May 17, 2010 9:04 pm

    Good but busy. I spent part of it doing doctor stuff with Kid A, and part of it painting a dresser.

    The thought of weeding makes me tired. Go you.

Leave a Reply

