Skip to content

Shhh

May 18, 2010

I have spent entirely too much time over the last two days talking to people at my ISP about why my connection keeps cutting itself off. This morning, it finally reached a critical stage and they actually sent someone TO MY HOUSE. I know! I’m as shocked as you are. And he arrived within 20 minutes of my talk with tech support. It sounds like a happy ending, right? But, alas, no. Tonight it’s on the fritz again. It’s making me cranky.

So is the stereo blaring in my neighbor’s driveway, which is literally rattling the windows.

Can’t we have a little quiet?

AJ had one of those days where he was switched to 11. Topics of conversation at breakfast included: The Bill of Rights, The Supreme Court, Fossils of the Cambrian era, perspective in art and acoustics. Topics at dinner included chess strategy, the White Sox, an analysis of The Wheel on the School by Meindert de Jong and the importance of time to think, how to concentrate (oh, the irony!) and several (hundred) other issues. Which is probably why it took him nearly 2 hours to eat. All interesting topics, though.
But I’m feeling almost as rattled as the windows.

I’m desperately trying to get the gazillion and one things on my to-do list for the week checked off. It’s slow going. And apparently I think the camping trip this weekend is going to take care of itself. Do I even know where I stowed the tent? Maybe I should look for it.

There is more: a couple of spectacularly good lessons with a couple of my violin students, a message from a favorite teacher of 30 years ago. But it will have to wait. It’s time for pajamas and a good book.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 7:47 am

    We have construction noise, lawnmowers, and weed whackers. And the tree that fell in the woods yesterday afternoon–it made a noise. So I share your longing for a little quiet. The kids, though–they come home late from after-school activities and shut themselves up in their rooms doing homework and watching Nostalgia Critic videos. I hope to see them (besides on stage at awards ceremonies) in June.

  2. freshhell permalink
    May 19, 2010 8:55 am

    This is why I moved out to Nowhere. The worst noise comes from the target shooting guy who likes to empty a few rounds most Sunday afternoons. We have traffic in front of the house – semis, etc – but it’s paltry by city standards.

    Most of the noise comes from within. Namely: Red. Kid never shuts up. Never finishes her dinner in a timely manner because she’s just talking talking talking talking. The rest of us finish and go off in our various directions. Red will saunter off and do something else and then complain of hunger. I point to her plate. She moans and wilts (because she wants something different to eat) but eventually finishes it all. And then tops it off (by now it’s bedtime) with half a bagel. This bagel is eaten while books are being read to her. Then she brushes her teeth and goes to bed. “Going to bed” means sitting up and looking at books and TALKING TALKING TALKING to herself until she finally passes out.

    She rarely eats all her lunch anymore (this shows back up on her dinner plate – just grapes and apples, mainly) because she’s spent most of that half hour TALKING.

Leave a Reply

