Skip to content

Happy campers

May 20, 2010

The tent is airing out on the back porch in advance of tonight’s rain. I am laboring under the assumption that the rain will stop by tomorrow evening. I really would prefer not to try to pitch a tent in the middle of a rainstorm. The rest of the weekend is supposed to be nice, though. If only I didn’t have to participate in group activities. I love the great outdoors. But I’m not so much a joiner. Do you think they’d let me sit in my tent and write all weekend? Because that is an activity I could get behind. If someone decides to make me be in a skit, it is possible that I will bite them.

Although I am not an especially experienced camper, I do know this: you need to test your equipment before you go. So I set up the tent — everything but the hammering of the stakes into the ground. I was pretty sure Mr. Spy would not look kindly onto my nailing the tent to the deck. It is how I learned that I was one tent stake short (purchased spares this morning). This is useful information. It also helps me to refresh my memory on how to put the thing together so I don’t look like a total idiot when I have to set it up in front of people. However the wind from the approaching storm keeps trying to knock it over. Now I see why guy lines are important. It is a lovely tent, though. Not good for really cold weather, because it doesn’t completely close up, but it’s spacious, as tents go, and I can set the whole thing up, exclusive of pounding in the stakes, in about 5 minutes.

The other advantage of setting up the tent on the back porch is that I had a good view of my vegetable garden. The beets and carrots are doing nicely and the second round of bean plants are sprouting. I fear I may lose the zucchini and cucumbers. I will replace the zucchini with plants, I think. After reading this article, I’m contemplating trying upside-down cucumbers. And Claudia, they say this is a good solution for cutworms, among other things. My favorite part of the article, though, is a picture of a guy who has planted his vegetables in buckets on pulleys, so he can raise them up at night to keep them away from the deer. Genius! I keep getting news updates from my CSA. I can’t tell you how excited I am to try this, but I find the newsletters maddening. They are taunting me with vegetables I don’t yet have.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    May 20, 2010 3:34 pm

    Yes, upside down planting is all the rage. I have nothing to attach those planter bags to so I’m going old skool this year. I’ve cut up paper towel rolls (and tp rolls) and push them into the soil before planting the seeds. That way, the seedlings have a fighting chance. My replacement tomato plant is waiting for me to pick up at the co-op drop off in just a few minutes. Then, baring any unforseen troubles, my garden is complete. But, I have a fence around my garden to fend off critters and deer aren’t a problem. You should get one of those planters and try it. Be my guinea pig! 🙂

    Have fun getting out of group activities this weekend. I feel your pain.

  2. teranika permalink
    May 20, 2010 6:31 pm

    WOW. that is COOOL. No wonder it’s all the rage!!!!

Leave a Reply

