Skip to content

On the road to oblivion

June 3, 2010

One of the least pleasant tasks I’ve taken on as an educational rabble-rouser is daily reading of the local paper. I still refuse to pay for a subscription (I read online), but I do feel I need to be on top of what is published about our district’s situation, especially since a lot of it is not so accurate. I try to tune out all the ignorant and hateful commentary.

But there is one good thing about it: sometimes it’s very entertaining. I was amused for a solid week by a popular article whose headline was “Choices Yield Outcomes” kept showing up in the feed. It’s very hard to argue with a headline like that. It’s also very hard to figure out what that article could possibly be about. But because the headline was so deliciously vague, I decided I didn’t really want to know, and instead have speculated on many possible options. Today’s gem was a grizzly death by metaphor that included killing two birds with one stone and the goose that laid the golden egg.

The latter article was about the announcement a couple of days ago that the union had agreed to concede on health insurance. Their contract has their insurance paid for 100% by the school for, I think, both the teachers and their families. They will be passing some of those costs on to the individuals as has happened in just about every other field. It’s good news and may save a teacher’s job. But only one teacher out of nearly 80. It’s not enough. But it’s at least a step in the right direction.

Today is the last full day of school. It is the most spectacular day. After over a week of heat and high humidity, it is in the 60s, dry and sunny. It’s hard to be inside, but this house isn’t going to clean itself for the party tomorrow. Unfortunately. The garden, alas, will have to wait.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 3, 2010 2:24 pm

    Next time, you need to get one of those self-cleaning houses. I’m in my lab inventing one right now.

  2. June 3, 2010 2:51 pm

    You mean like this one?

  3. freshhell permalink
    June 3, 2010 2:59 pm

    I can do better than that! Water is old fashioned. And…not very practical.

  4. June 3, 2010 3:22 pm

    I was hoping for the Jetsons’ house by now. Or at least my very own Rosie the Robot.

  5. June 3, 2010 8:16 pm

    I was not dressed correctly for the weather today. Also, it’s the time of year when I feel like I should have straightened my hair because soon it will be August and humid and straightening will be impossible. So I also wasted a low-humidity day on curly hair.

Leave a Reply

