Skip to content

Disordered

June 15, 2010

Type. Type. Type. Type.
Jump up.
Move stuff.
Sit.
Type. Type. Type.
Run upstairs.
Collect laundry.
Put in laundry room.
Type. Type. Type.
Look up something entirely unnecessary.
Type. Type.
Remember the laundry.
Sort.
Put in washer.
Wonder if I’ll ever tackle the pile of mending.
Type. Type. Type.
Is it time to pick up AJ

* * * * *

Welcome to short attention span theater. Today’s performance is underwritten by the three empty coffee cups sitting on the top shelf of my desk. Thank you for coming and enjoy the show.

Here are some of the things that are consuming my attention, in no particular order, because they do not occur in any particular order.

Dissertation
Laundry
Should I send AJ to Catholic School?
Summer camps
Trip to Cub Scout store this afternoon? Or not?
Wow, my office is a mess
How did all this paper get in here?
Oh! I forgot to water the plants on the front porch!
Is it time to pick up AJ yet?

Somewhere in there was a short mental rant about having been suckered into going back to my former regular grocery store. I am always horrified by the prices which are 20-40 percent higher than where I usually shop. And there’s also a couple of moments of panic over my schedule which is so irregular in the summer that I’m always in danger of missing something.

What say you, internet: Less coffee? More Ritalin? A desk chair restraint system?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 15, 2010 1:29 pm

    Mending? You need to hire an Amish girl. I know one – she lives in my house and uses (secretly) a sewing machine. She’ll work for Webkinz. Or yarn. Either one.

    My brain has been like that this week and last. And now I have a 24 hour old headache that won’t go away. I left my watch somewhere this morning and if I weren’t in front of a computer, I’d have no idea what time it is.

    I think what you need is called A LONG VACATION.

  2. June 15, 2010 5:17 pm

    I agree with FreshHell about the vacation. In the meantime, though, isn’t all the getting up a bit of exercise?

  3. crankygirl permalink
    June 16, 2010 3:13 pm

    Catholic School? I vote no–I think it would be really hard on him.

  4. June 16, 2010 3:25 pm

    That may be true, although this one seems more liberal than most. I worry about the religion instruction. But it’s a good school that we can, I think, afford.

  5. June 16, 2010 4:01 pm

    Many of the male first-year college students I’ve known over the past 25 years who had good critical thinking skills came from RC schools (some Jesuit). I’d never send a girl, but a boy, yes.

  6. freshhell permalink
    June 16, 2010 4:12 pm

    Despite my religious leanings, I can’t say anything bad about Catholic schools. My sister attended one in high school and, apart from the church bits, she got a good education. So, there’s that. Now, whether they have what AJ needs is another story but you could do worse. Hey! You already know what worse is!

  7. June 16, 2010 4:30 pm

    I spoke to the nun who runs this school on the phone a few months ago and I really liked her — she struck me as both smart and funny in our brief conversation. Its tuition, like most Catholic schools, is 20-25% that of the private schools we’ve been looking at — 4 digits instead of 5. And it would also be a lot easier to get to — a 20 minute drive — probably 30 minutes in the morning, but it’s also right by the train line that goes through our town. My biggest concern is whether they will be flexible enough to adjust curriculum to AJs level as needed. They are, in general, ahead of the public school curriculum by about a year in math (its harder to tell about language arts). And they have art and music and Spanish three times a week with an option for Mandarin after school for an additional fee. It’s much more academic looking than the Catholic school in our town. The classes are also much smaller –just over half the anticipated class size for AJ’s grade at public school next year.

  8. freshhell permalink
    June 17, 2010 8:31 am

    Sounds like it might be a good option for the next year or so. At least while all things budgetary and job-related work themselves out. Art and music and Spanish are important. And, yes, the financial end of things in Catholic schools are more reasonable and flexible because many Catholic families have multiple children (in my experience) and they all send them to private schools and have to be able to afford that. I bet there are sibling discounts, too. My sister did really well there.

Leave a Reply

