Skip to content

Here comes the sun

June 16, 2010

After days and days of rain, the sun has, at last come out. Just when I was starting to wonder if I was now living in a rain forest without the two things that make a rain forest attractive for living (coffee and monkeys), we get a day that is maybe the most perfect day ever. It is sunny. It is warm, but not too warm. It is not humid and there’s a fantastic breeze, which is keeping away the bumper crop of mosquitoes (see the aforementioned rain). Consequently, I’m working on my balcony today and I couldn’t be happier about it.

AJ came out to keep me company for a little while, sitting in the other red and white chair with a book. I got us both lemonade and we sat here companionably for a full ten minutes before he got bored and ran off to play. It was nice to have him here for a while. He’s good company.

Also in the good column: The arrival of a bunch of CDs from The Lass, including the one I’m playing now, songs written by Jimmy Webb but sung by other people. I know a lot of these songs, but in many cases, I had no idea Webb wrote them, It’s fascinating listening from a great and amazingly versatile songwriter (“MacArthur Park” notwithstanding). I’m looking for a nostalgia trip with the Carpenters later. Although really, it’s amazing that The Lass and I have any music to send each other, because the number of occasions where we find ourselves listening to the same thing is totally freaky.

In the not so great column, I can’t get my advisor to critique my work. He had proposed a schedule of a chapter every 10 days. But it’s now 3 months and several reminder notices later and I still have heard nothing. So frustrating. I decided today that I’m just going to start sending him chapters every ten days, regardless of what I’ve heard back from him. It may not do any good, but I’m tired of sitting here banging my head against the wall in frustration.

And now I am off to teach my rock and roll girls at Studio 2.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 17, 2010 7:50 am

    Ugh how annoying. Yes, just send those chapters and keep bugging him. That’s ridiculous.

  2. June 17, 2010 8:54 am

    Yeah, be a gadfly. Your advisor is, unfortunately, behaving like most of them do at some point. I blame tenure (mostly because I like to be snide about the process).

  3. freshhell permalink
    June 17, 2010 9:50 am

    It’s also summer time. I think professors resent having to work like a plebe in the summer.

  4. crankygirl permalink
    June 17, 2010 12:23 pm

    Yeah–he doesn’t want to admit to being one of the “small people”–best gaffe of all time.

Leave a Reply

