Skip to content

Can’t trust that day

June 28, 2010

Craziness today.

I spent the morning getting some nagging paperwork done and making phone calls, including an appointment with the Catholic school we’re thinking about for next year. We’ll be visiting on Thursday. I’ll be taking Andy too, so I’ll be curious to see what he thinks. He’s got very mixed feelings about the possibility of leaving his school. He wants to stay with his friends, but he also wants some things that his school doesn’t offer, like band and Spanish and sports. The school would be a stretch for us financially and will be a major hassle in terms of the commuting. Will it be worth it? How do we know? I am writing down long lists of questions in pencil in my yellow notebook.

I am now in the community college library in my favorite carrel. AJ is sitting in a lab on the other side of the building with a bunch of other kids. He looked like one of the youngest. The oldest were in high school (!), although I think they may have just been there helping. He is taking dissection. There were models of hearts and posters of human anatomy all over the room. He looked scared and small sitting at the black-topped table when I left him. But they all did. Hopefully he’ll have fun. There looked to be a couple of other boys close to his age.

I have just exactly enough time to drive home, swap AJ at the door for my fiddle and head to School of Rock. I really hope I am not late. Think traffic- and accident-free thoughts. From there I have to head to the school board meeting, for which I will be late. They are discussing the possibility of a referendum which could add $1500 annually to our taxes. I think they are dreaming if they think that will pass now with unemployment topping 10% in our county and countless independent contractors working minimum hours for minimum wages. Who can afford it? Not me. And I think it’s necessary. They’ve got a marketing nightmare ahead of them.

Unfortunately, the teaching and board meeting mean I’ll miss dinner and thus won’t be there to hear AJ discuss the details of his dissection over a nice meal. I know how much Mr. Spy loves that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Eleanor permalink
    June 29, 2010 7:59 am

    Everything about this entry reeks of being an adult. I don’t mean that in a bad way, as I know and like lots of adults and even from time to time masquerade as one myself. It’s just, well, I read a diary entry like this and think: What happened to us?

  2. June 29, 2010 8:39 am

    It’s true and I feel the same way. It’s the “adult” way to flit from place to place taking more time to worry than to enjoy the trip. I feel like this school crisis has aged me 10 years. At least. Also, it doesn’t help that I just pulled a muscle in my back dancing to Apples in Stereo in the shower. So uch for living in the moment.

  3. freshhell permalink
    June 29, 2010 9:29 am

    Oh, I think a pulled muscle is most definitely living in the moment. Moments of pain. The last two months for me have been one long series of crossing t’s and dotting i’s and running around and phone calling and list making etc. I think we need to meet up at our island for a cocktail.

  4. June 29, 2010 11:47 am

    Island cocktails have done wonders for my outlook on life…and there’s always time for one more!

  5. June 29, 2010 12:19 pm

    You are all invited over for imaginary friend summer camp. I’ll make the mojitos.

  6. freshhell permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:00 am

    Yay! Summer camp! I’ll be right over.

Leave a Reply

