Skip to content

Non sequiturs

July 1, 2010

• The Spy Family visited the Catholic school this morning. We all came away with different opinions. Typical. It is, however, undeniable that they have a nice facility. A nice wood-floored gym. A fairly new and air-conditioned building with big classrooms with lots of windows. A nice shady playground. No playing fields, but close enough to walk to several parks and a parking lot for recess with basketball hoops. A computer lab full of brand new computers. A decent sized and inviting library. Interactive whiteboards in every room. And, of course, crucifixes in every room. AJ was pretty quiet during the tour, but on the way home said he really wanted to go there. Mr. Spy was not bowled over. He pointed out that the facilities were not as nice as the Jr. High in our public school district (which is a much bigger school and also very new). But he generally feels that you should go to your local school unless there’s something drastic. He grew up going to his local parochial school and the idea of looking at other schools would not, I think, have occurred to him if I hadn’t pushed for it. I’m actually inclined to agree with him on staying local, but I also think we are facing something drastic. He’s not there yet. I’m still unsure about how they’d handle AJ. They school said they’d have one of the fourth grade teachers call me. And I still need to talk to the parent who took her gifted child out of the school but who’s kept her other children there. So it’s still a possibility, but there’s still more research to be done.

• Mr. Spy’s mother is in the hospital. This is not expected. She has cancer. The surgery was planned. But it is stressful nonetheless. I am worried about Mr. Spy. He is on his way down there now.

• Every time I pick up a newspaper or look at a website this week, I am staring at the photo of a friend of mine’s sister. My friend’s sister looks a lot like my friend, so it is always a little disconcerting. But even more disconcerting is the book she has written, which is why her photo is everywhere. It is supposed to be very good, but it is about something really horrible that happened to her and my friend. Horrible and personal. Something I knew about only in the vaguest of terms. And I am now feeling awkward about talking to my friend, who granted I don’t talk to that often anymore anyway. How would I feel to have my personal tragedy laid bare? Naked? Liberated? Embarrassed? Probably all three. How would I feel if a sibling had written it? I’m not sure. How does this make me feel about blogging about other people? It makes me think twice about it. so much so, that I’ll probably delete this paragraph a little later.

• Can people please stop sending me emails with the subject heading “BP is burning endangered sea turtles alive”? I really can’t take it anymore.

• I have been making a list of things that drive me crazy but which I will probably miss in a few years. So far:

• dirty socks in the front hall closet
• shreds of a rapidly disintegrating blankie in all sorts of odd corners
• sofa cushions abandoned on the family room floor where they were serving as bases
• bathroom towels never, EVER hung up
• the one arm guy who didn’t get put away always ending up under my bare foot
• endless amounts of sports-related laundry (okay, I can’t quite imagine myself missing that one)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    July 1, 2010 12:04 pm

    Well, I think you are facing something drastic and if you can swing it, AJ might be just fine there. Perhaps it’ll be a year-long experiment?

    Sorry to hear about Mr. Spy’s mom. It’s kind of silly sometimes to utter phrases like “hope she’ll be better” when that’s not always going to be the case but I do hope she’ll be rid of pain and that the surgery is successful. It’s hard watching our parents age.

    Also – our bath towels seem to have some magnetic attraction to the floor. The hand towel by the sink is even worse. I’m almost convinced the children squat down to use it rather than hang it back up. Cause, you know, it’s too much damn trouble to place it on the hook I screwed in the damn wall.

  2. July 1, 2010 12:41 pm

    There’s a great scene in the remake of The Karate Kid in which the mother says to her son “Pick up your jacket.” It’s the best delivery of the line I’ve ever seen. All mothers will like it. Because we’ve been there and done that.

  3. July 1, 2010 3:05 pm

    Soccer Boy LOVED, LOVED, LOVED his “guys.” First the Rescue Heroes then the more traditional army/action figure types. He’s eleven now, and I can’t quite remember the last time I saw him actively playing with them. I miss coming home to find some epic battle staged in the entry hall!

  4. July 5, 2010 10:22 am

    I hope the surgery went well. I liked Mr. Spy’s mom when I met her, I hope they can put her back in working order.

Leave a Reply

