Skip to content

Enlisted

August 10, 2010

I spent the morning doing grown up things like going to a meeting with a bag full of papers with little numbers on them to talk to a man in a suit with a computer and a picture of his kids on his desk. It all went well, I think, but I spent the rest of the day shaking it off.

Way back in the beginning of the summer, when AJ and I sat down and made our lists of what we wanted to do this summer, meetings with bankers did not even occur to me to write on it. Nor did I include grocery shopping on my list, although that was the next thing I had to do. I took AJ with me. But it turned out that I had won $25 worth of groceries from my local Trader Joe’s in the weekly drawing from those who bring reusable bags. So when AJ asked, I bought him jellybeans and we shared them. And then the day took a turn for the better.

We stopped at the local ice cream chain, the one with chess boards on the tables, and ordered a soft serve vanilla ice cream cone apiece and ate them while playing a couple of games. They were terrible games but we had a blast. We talked about what was on our lists of things we’d done that summer. We’d made good progress on AJ’s list. There were only a couple of things left. I told him that playing chess at the ice cream shop was number two on my list.

“What’s number 1?”

“It’s one we haven’t done yet. Go to the beach.”

“That’s on my list too.”

When we got home, we put the groceries away and headed up to the pool to cool off. We’d planned a serious game of gutter ball, but it turned out it was Nine-Year-Old Boy Day at the pool and he ended up splashing around with his friends while I read Sea of Poppies and realized it was a week overdue. Oops.

By the time we came home, it was time for AJ to inhale some dinner and head off to football practice with Assistant Coach Spy. Me? I decided to avoid the heat and mosquitoes and stay home. And try to catch up on the work I blew off this afternoon. I dragged my laptop up onto my bed so I could be more comfortable. After a while, I decided I needed to stretch. I got up to go do some yoga and then I came back. I moved the laptop. I climbed up and stood in the middle of my bed. And jumped.

I just found something new to put on my list. Something I haven’t done in at least three decades. And the best part is, I can already check it off. Only two weeks left until school starts. It’s good to be action oriented.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 7:35 am

    We have a “last of summer” list like that. It includes one more college visit, one more trip to the lake, one more morning volunteering at the Humane Society, and a trip to the zoo.

    I can’t jump on beds anymore, so I’ll enjoy it vicariously.

  2. August 12, 2010 9:57 pm

    jumping on the bed, huh? cool.

Leave a Reply

