Skip to content

Repent

September 8, 2010

It is 8:30. I just saw AJ off to school and I’m still sitting here in my pajamas because it is 50 degrees and I’m still not sure whether I’m teaching at the pool this morning or not. I myself am willing to show up until we have to crack through the ice to get in. But I’m not so sure about my students and I haven’t yet received any official word. So here I sit.

Mr. Spy, on the other hand, was up early running around, as he’s interviewing a journalist most of you all have probably heard of in a few minutes. I shall endeavor to make myself scarce, even though I’d really like to listen in. Living with a journalist is rarely boring. Although few things top having to take a phone message for William “The Refrigerator” Perry when Mr. Spy was out.

It’s been a morning of big things. Hearing details of the unexpected death of a friend in a car-bike crash. Reading the wonderful news of the birth of Dr. Geek‘s first child. And hoping that Miss Lady Girl will neither be devoured by spiders nor washed away in a flood. And even more cataclysmic, reading of the decision of Chicago’s “Mayor for Life” not to run for reelection. Is the world coming to an end? Possibly. But I hope not. It’s nice out today.

AJ’s doctor’s visit revealed that there was nothing wrong but a series of small things, which was what I’d suspected, but it was nice to have it confirmed. It does turn out, though, that AJ has some pretty aggressive muscle tension in his neck — probably from trying to wear a giant heavy football helmet (don’t get me started) — so he’s on a regimen of massage and heat and stretching for a couple of weeks. Physical therapy was also mentioned, but is not yet being prescribed. We’ll try the home remedies first. There are still some unexplained things, but we’ll keep an eye on him and see how things go. He definitely slept better last night than he has in a while and was much more chipper this morning. Honestly, I think his biggest problem is that football wears him out. Why nine-year-olds need three two-hour practices, a strength training session and a game every week is beyond me.

And now, as no one has called me to say they are coming, I am heading to yoga instead of the pool. Maybe I should get out of my pajamas first, though.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. readersguide permalink
    September 8, 2010 11:56 am

    Poor AJ. That does seem like too much.

  2. freshhell permalink
    September 8, 2010 1:01 pm

    Yeah. I think the helmet’s too heavy. Why do they do that?

  3. September 9, 2010 8:49 am

    The regulations for youth soccer in Ohio specify that practice can’t last more than 1-1/2 hours. Sounds like Illinois kid football needs some more regulation! And I know you’re not too busy to take on another cause…

Leave a Reply

