Skip to content

Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha

September 14, 2010

Fall is the time of year when the wildlife flips out. Last night, for instance, I sat on my balcony trying to work as a small fawn ran laps at top speed around our back yard. The streets are covered with the bodies of chipmunks and squirrels who are too panicky about collecting as many nuts as possible to be bothered to get out of the way of oncoming traffic. On my way to School of Rock yesterday, there was a huge turkey vulture flattened in the middle of the road, killed, no doubt, while trying to feast on the flat chipmunks who got hit first.

But there is one animal that is making me a little crazy too: the woodpeckers. I don’t really know why, but at this time of year everyone in our neighborhood complains about the woodpeckers going to town on their houses. We haven’t had much of a problem for the past few years, but this year, they’re going ballistic. There’s one who is partial to the wall by the kitchen and another who prefers the corner of the screened porch. The most intractable one, though, goes after the back of the garage. It took me a while to track him down. He’s wily. But when I did, I discovered that he’d actually drilled a hole all the way into the garage. Time for some repairs.

So now our house is so decked out in flash tape that it’s in danger of being mistaken for a parade float. But it’s worth it to preserve my sanity. And my walls.

Mr. Spy and I set off on a bike trek this morning, not quite as far as my ride with Julia on Sunday and not nearly as hilly, but a respectable ride nonetheless. I would feel quiet virtuous about it if it weren’t for my inability to pass the pie restaurant along the trail without stopping. Apple tart and a cup of coffee outside on a fall day. I think it was totally worth it.

And now I am, as usual, behind on my work and panicking about any number of things. Time to get my head in the game.

One Comment leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 15, 2010 7:40 am

    Was your house built on a sacred ancient animal burial ground? They sure do act like they’re taking revenge on it.

Leave a Reply

