Skip to content

Boom Boom Pow

October 5, 2010

Busy, busy week here at Spy Headquarters. Here’s the low-down

• I cannot stand to look at my article for one more second. Unfortunately, I still need to finish editing it. This poses certain logistical challenges that I fear only time travel could solve.

• AJ got a stellar midterm report, but the report on his school is less clear. You can read about it here.

• I acquired two new students at School of Rock last night, meaning I’m now teaching 6 lessons in a row on Mondays. This is good from a financial standpoint, but a bit challenging on my endurance. My two new students are sisters, age 3 and 4, both playing 1/16th sized violins (so teeny that when I hold one under my neck to tune it that the scroll hits somewhere around the middle of my upper arm). We didn’t have any in stock, so I taught them a trial lesson on 1/4 sizes last night. You know what it’s like wrangling two toddlers? Try wrangling them in a room with a piano and a drum kit while they’re holding very breakable instruments that don’t belong to them. See how fast Harriet can run when the toddlers discover her instrument on the table. Mental note: double check instrument insurance coverage before next lesson.

• I got my flu shot yesterday. Now I have the flu. Coincidence? Still, it’s not the knock-down, drag-out kind of flu like the Swine that felled me last November. If I have to choose between them, I choose the self-inflicted kind.

• Last night I had to explain disco to AJ. Is there an explanation for disco?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:26 pm

    Disco, to my mind, is dance music. Not all of it is bad.

    I hear you on hating to read something that must be read and edited. I know that feeling and it keeps you from seeing the good that’s there.

    Sorry to hear about your flu. I’m taking the kids to one of these minute clinics soon for there’s in a week or so. I haven’t had a reaction to one in probably 20 years. It could be that you were already incubating the germs before you had the shot and the extra injection (literally) of the virus just egged it on.

  2. freshhell permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:26 pm

    THEIR’S! Gah.

  3. October 5, 2010 1:54 pm

    there is no explanation for disco. not that there’s anything wrong with that…

  4. October 5, 2010 8:00 pm

    I love those teeny tiny violins. Best idea ever. Although I have no idea how you would teach a toddler to play the violin, other than very short lessons? I could not do your job.

  5. October 5, 2010 8:49 pm

    With kids that young, it’s more about playing with music than learning to play the violin. We do a lot of singing and listening and playing games like Simon Says. The violin stuff comes slowly and is only part of the picture. Mostly you want to get them having fun with music.

  6. October 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    Disco is from Hell. What else is there to know about it, really?

    Also, I am trying to wrap my head around the idea of a 3-yr.-old playing a violin. And when I try, I see a monkey. Is there something wrong with me? 😛

  7. October 6, 2010 7:24 am

    A disco is a place to dance, and the music played there is dance music. That’s my story, and I’ve stuck to it since I was 17, dancing to “Dancing Queen.”

    For the last two years Walker felt fine on the day he got his flu shot, and came down with something the next morning (which is too soon for him to have caught it at the flu shot clinic). I do think it’s immunity–if you’re fighting something already, the flu shot can take you under.

  8. October 6, 2010 6:58 pm

    @Lass: yes, yes there is. But we like you anyway.

  9. Robin permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:12 pm

    I love bitty kids with bitty violins. And while most of my conservatory friends were not Suzuki kids, I’d give my 3-year-old piano lessons if I had one. Kids are made for music, although perhaps not for expensive string instruments (but seriously, how cute are the little violins?).

  10. October 6, 2010 9:12 pm

    Lass, you are not far off. Jeanne, that’s exactly what happened. I did have a particularly bad reaction this year. My arm still feels like it was socked with a baseball bat and is noticeably weaker than my right arm — a bit of a challenge for teaching today. Robin, I totally agree about the baby violins. I think the age at which kids are ready to study an instrument varies widely from kid to kid but all kids are, as you say, made for music. The trick is meeting them where they are in terms of physical and mental development, ability to concentrate, interest level, etc. My goal with the younger ones is for them to love it, not for them to play like a virtuoso. It’s sometimes a challenge to get the parents on board with that, though.

Leave a Reply

