Skip to content

Sat Nam

October 6, 2010

I walked up the road this morning, as I do nearly every Wednesday, to go to yoga. I always love this class, but today it was especially nice, as my first kundalini teacher who now lives at the mother ashram, was in town. She taught a class that involved a lot of arms in the air, as in three different poses with straight arms moving in the air overhead for 11 minutes apiece. I’m sure I’ll be feeling it tomorrow. I’m feeling it a little now. But it was lovely to be there and lovely to see her. We all headed out to an Indian restaurant afterwards and stayed so long talking that I barely beat AJ home from school. Not the best work day, although I did get some writing done this morning. Tomorrow will be better. But I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Among the things we talked about at lunch was the invitation we all received to the wedding of my second kundalini teacher, who is also living near the ashram. It is a Sikh wedding and I am dying to see it. An unusual set of logistics has made it financially possible and I am enjoying mulling over the possibility of attending, but I know I really can’t. The wedding is at the same time as some major publication deadlines for both me and Mr. Spy. It would require my being out of town for at least 5 days. And a couple of weeks later, I have to go to a conference for 4 days, so I think it would be awfully hard on my family to take off for New Mexico. But still, doesn’t it sound like fun? If I can’t go, I’m hoping I can see at least some of it on the Gudwara‘s webcam. (And may I just add here how happy I am to discover that the online encyclopedia of Sikhism is called Sikhi Wiki?)

And speaking of publication deadlines, I got my contract from Important University Press today. It basically says “you agree to give us all your rights and we agree not to charge you for printing costs.” There is little wealth in academic publishing. The sad thing is that I’m kind of excited about signing it. But before I do, I’m trying to figure out if this means I have to get permission from Important University Press to use my own words in my dissertation, from which this article is extracted. I’m hoping something can be written into the contract so I don’t have to go through a whole lot of rigamarole later. I’m sure the press’ legal department will get right back to me, considering the financial stakes are so high.

Tomorrow is AJ’s last day of school of the week. They have a four day weekend so that we all have plenty of time to celebrate Columbus Day. I have made all kinds of suggestions for interesting things we could do, but he is most interested in not having anything on his schedule. Or the Museum of Science and Industry. It depends when you catch him. The weather is supposed to be beautiful. I myself am hoping for a picnic under the plum tree, one of the things on our summer list that didn’t get done.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 7:51 am

    We have a odd weekend. Friday is a furlough day to save the county money. But because Monday is Columbus Day, if they take it off they have to pay the teachers. So, we’re off Friday but attending school on Monday. Whatever. I think we’ll go see the scarecrow exhibit at the Botanical Gardens on Friday. Or get the boys haircuts so they stop looking like scarecrows themselves.

    Last time we went to the Botanical Gardens we got to see an Indian wedding too! Fascinating – oh and the smells from the reception food were amazing!

  2. freshhell permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:01 am

    That does sound like a fun wedding to attend. It’s too bad you can’t go.

    The kids just have Monday off and we’re planning to go back to the American Frontier Culture Museum. Unless it rains. In that case, I don’t have a clue what we’ll do with ourselves.

  3. Cranky permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:06 pm

    The idea of you needing permission to quote yourself makes me laugh a lot. But I understand that it can happen.

  4. October 7, 2010 12:29 pm

    There are lots of bizarre things that come up in this kind of writing. I’m still trying to figure out how to quote an article I wrote under my maiden name in my dissertation in a way that makes it clear I wrote it without sounding like I’m being pompous. Lucky for me I’ve got a first name that makes people assume it’s me even with a different last name. After further investigation, it appears I don’t need permission to quote it in the dissertation if it is published after the book, although I do need to credit the original publication (which can only help me, I think). Incentive to finish both things quickly.

  5. Cranky permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:51 pm

    Well, that makes it a bit easier–glad to hear it!

  6. October 7, 2010 7:53 pm

    I vote for MSI. But then I’m biased! Jim Henson is fascinating and I have free passes I’m more than willing to part with.

  7. October 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    Ooh. I forgot about the Henson exhibit. But I’ll have to see how I’m feeling tomorrow — if I’m not better than today, I think we’ll have to skip it. MSI requires some serious energy. It would be fun, though. Hmm.

  8. October 8, 2010 11:11 am

    Well let me know, I really do have passes burning a hole in my pocket. Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

