Skip to content

Yin Yang

October 7, 2010

Things I like about today:
1. Sunshine
2. 70s
3. WFUV playing all my favorite songs

Things I don’t like about today
1. Hack
2. Cough
3. Achoo

Things I like about my publishing contract:
1. Being able to say “I have a contract with Big University Press”
2. It’s addressed to “Professor Spy”
3. Extensive, non-ironical use of “whereas”

Things I don’t like about my publishing contract:
1. I get $0
2. I may have to ask permission to quote myself
3. The deadline

Things I like about what I do
1. Reading
2. Writing
3. Tunes

Things I don’t like about what I do
1. Reading boring stuff
2. Rewriting
3. Too many editors

6 Comments leave one →
  1. readersguide permalink
    October 7, 2010 4:01 pm

    There you have it.

  2. October 7, 2010 4:51 pm

    It’s still fun for me to be addressed as “Professor” too!

  3. freshhell permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:20 pm

    Yep. Nobody ever calls me Professor and they never will. I’ve made a bit of money from my writing but it was a long time ago. 😦

  4. eleanorio permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:39 pm

    Whenever people address me as “professor”, I correct them, although secretly I’m still flattered.

  5. October 13, 2010 3:16 pm

    Whereas you get ZERO? How can that be?

  6. October 13, 2010 3:44 pm

    It’s the way edited books usually work with academic presses. The editor who puts together the project (the guy who does the proposal and shops it around, not the person at the press who oversees it) generally gets an honorarium. Everyone else gets a couple of free books and discounts off additional copies. No one gets royalties. This is what happens when people have to publish to get and keep jobs. There’s no money it it.

Leave a Reply

