Skip to content

Indiana wants me

November 5, 2010

Holy Cow, this conference is busy. And fun. And busy. Here are some of the highlights thus far.

• Despite the size of the conference, within ten minutes of walking in on Thursday evening, I’d run into two of my committee members and an ex-boyfriend. Ex-boyfriends are a conference hazard. Fortunately I am on good terms with them.

• I attended a really interesting session Thursday night on women and music that was half historical and half activist, an interesting combination that spawned a lively discussion that was all over the map but in a good way.

• I started Friday morning way too early, by getting thoroughly lost trying to find the hotel parking garage. Eventually I got to my breakfast meeting of alums of my undergrad institution to discover that my good friend who organized it wasn’t there. But it was a great meeting nonetheless — there were only 5 of us, so we had plenty of time to really talk. And two especially nice things happened. The first was that my undergrad advisor told me that the president of the college is still talking about the paper I gave in February. The second happened just after we adjourned when I ran into another attendee, one whose work has been extremely influential on my own and who wrote one of the two articles that sparked my dissertation. She walked up to me in the exhibit hall and point blank asked me, “So why haven’t you finished your dissertation?” I mentioned my problems with my advisor and she pulled me aside and gave me a good talking to. “It’s time to get angry,” she said. I said “it’s frustrating.” She replied, “It’s not just frustrating. It’s unethical.” I walked away feeling more empowered about this than I have in weeks.

• I went to a number of good papers and ran into many old friends. I met my friend L for lunch and watched her mail her recently completed book manuscript before we adjourned to the nearest wine bar to celebrate. I had dinner with my friend M and another person who graduated from our university at a hole-in-the-wall Cuban restaurant with fabulous food.

• At a party for a major university press, I had the pleasure of introducing one of my favorite former professors to my good friend who is their music acquisitions person. It’s nice once in a while to have a chance to do a favor for someone who has done things for you.

• The party for my university was hopping and I knew very few people, but the ones I did know I like very much. I got the chance to talk to one of my fellow chapter authors for the book coming out next year. I did not get to meet with my advisor. We’d made an appointment, but he didn’t show. I did, however, run into another old friend who is having the same advisor trouble I am (with the same person). He lives overseas and was on a mission to talk to the department chair about it. I said count me in. I feel better having backup. I think I may try to discuss the problem with my second reader, who just finished his term as department chair.

• I am inspired to get home and get to work. But not tonight. After nearly 17 straight hours of conferencing, I’m sacking out with a video and I’m not setting my alarm. So there.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 12:07 am

    Go fight win! And ex-girlfriends are not a hazard at my conferences. Since no one really sets out to be in advancement services (or development operations or whatever) when they’re eligible (for the most part), it’s usually free and clear of those hazards.

  2. eleanorio permalink
    November 6, 2010 5:58 pm

    Sounds like a great conference. I wish I could go to more in my field. The last one I was at was at least a dozen years ago. Hmmm…. And yes, it’s time you were Harri3tspy Ph.D. instead of Harri3tspy A.B.D.

  3. November 7, 2010 4:02 pm

    I have to admit I never had an issue with ex-boyfriends when I was in the development world. For that matter. Nearly everyone I worked with was either female or gay or both. I used to hate conferences, eleanorio. But now that I am no longer taking classes and my friends are scattered, it’s like summer camp for academics. Which sounds less fun than it actually is.

  4. November 8, 2010 9:31 pm

    so, how about my ex-boyfriend 😉

    what’s with the post title?

  5. November 8, 2010 9:37 pm

    I missed his session. They added a session late at the same time that was directly related to my specialty area, so I had to go. As for the post title, I just had that song stuck in my head over the weekend, what with being in Indiana and all.

  6. November 11, 2010 4:08 pm

    Ah. I was thinking Indiana had offered you a job or something.

  7. November 11, 2010 4:25 pm

    I can only wish they’d want me like that.

Trackbacks

  1. Stronger than the wind « spynotes

Leave a Reply

