Skip to content

Home again, home again

November 7, 2010

I apologize for the previous locked post. It’s not ready for public consumption, but pieces of it will work its way out here eventually. I am typing this in bed trying to will myself to get up and get moving. I am heading home soon.

I’m in that post-conference daze that results from lack of sleep, which in turn results from my complete overstimulation. There have been so many people and so many ideas the last few days. I shall be processing it all for some time. About halfway through yesterday afternoon, I hit the conference wall. This happens at every conference on every Saturday afternoon, virtually without fail. I was listening to a perfectly interesting paper but it was as if the reader had suddenly switched from English to ancient Greek. I could no longer understand anything. I was full up. I spent the rest of the session concentrating on staying awake then cut out and got a little writing done. The best cure for conference fatigue is to go internal for a while. I good nap never hurts either.

Last night I met up with a group of some of my closest friends from graduate school and we all came back to the home of the friends with whom I’m staying. We spent the whole night talking and eating pizza and drinking and playing Quelf with H & V’s daughters and catching up. We spent a lot of nights like this in grad school, but it’s been a very, very long time since we were all in the same room together. It was so nice to sit around with group of people with so much shared history. It’s been a long time since I’ve been that relaxed in a social gathering. I feel so lucky to know them all.

I’m heading home in an hour or so. And then will come the conference withdrawal. It’s always a bit of a let down to find yourself working in isolation again. But it usually fuels me to high productivity for a while. I’m hoping the loss of my computer for a few days won’t hinder me too much.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 10:26 am

    I know exactly what you mean about hitting a wall. I also do that in art museums and sometimes when I’m tired. I did it just as a poetry reading I really wanted to go to was starting last night. Luckily all I had to do was sit there, and Ron drove me home.

    We’ve never tried Quelf. H&V’s daughters always want to play Apples to Apples with us.

  2. November 7, 2010 1:10 pm

    I think Quelf may be the girls’ new favorite game. I suspect you and your family would like it very much. It’s a great game for multiple ages. It’s also great for reunions with the right kind of old friends because if its inherent silliness.

Trackbacks

  1. Stronger than the wind « spynotes

Leave a Reply

