Skip to content

Cheers

November 21, 2010

A view inside Harriet’s brain four days before Thanksgiving in the heart of the academic job season:

• How big a turkey did I order?
• What exactly *is* a research statement?
• I need a 3-5 year plan?!? I can’t even figure out what’s for dinner.
• Time to start the cranberry sauce. I wonder if I remembered the oranges.
• Oranges, check. Sugar….sugar….Oh, sugar!
• There are *HOW* many items in my bibliography?
• Book chapter or diss chapter for writing sample?
• What is my philosophy of teaching? Do I have a philosophy of teaching?
• What about my philosophy of turkey preparation?
• To brine or not to brine: That is the question!
• Do I even have a pot big enough for a turkey?
• The deadline is when?
• How old is too old for a letter of recommendation?
• Am I even qualified to do this?
• Hey, that last question applies to both problems!
• Here’s another one that does too: can I have a nap now, please?
• But first a dramatic reading of my shopping list (true story!):
sugar
wine
pick up turkey
wine
pearl onions
Wondra?
wine
• There is one clear priority emerging here, and it is neither turkey nor job applications.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 8:25 pm

    Wine is essential at my family’s dinner, as well. In fact, I called my mom tonight and she informed me that even though Mystery Bro. and wife arrived this weekend with a case of nice wine, and she had just bought more nice wine, she thinks she might go out and get even MORE wine for the drop-in guests we always seem to have.

  2. Cranky permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:26 am

    What’s Wondra? Sadly, never too old for letters of recommendation.

  3. freshhell permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:28 am

    Wine is a good priority and is always prominent at our Thanksgivings as well. I am glad I only have to bring a pumpkin pie and a birthday cake this year. I plan to spend my holiday as slothfully as possible.

  4. November 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Wondra is a superfine flour used for making gravy and certain kinds of cakes. I crossed it off my list — I found some in the back of my cupboard. As for letters of recommendation, it’s the age of the recs I’m concerned about, not the age of me! I am never too old for letters of recommendation, but some of my letters of recommendation may be too old. I’m not sure I have time to fix the latter before the 12/1 deadline, however.

  5. November 22, 2010 10:38 am

    hmm, now that I know what Wondra is, I might try gravy again!

  6. crankygirl permalink
    November 22, 2010 10:53 am

    Oh–I get it about the recs.

    Jews don’t eat gravy, I assert.

    I hope to send you a Happy Chanukah card in a couple of weeks. Will it be AJ’s first?

  7. November 22, 2010 11:24 am

    I don’t eat gravy either. But my guests do. But that’s probably why I’m so bad at it. It will be AJ’s first Chanukah card and he will love it. Which reminds me that I have a funny story to tell you, but because it’s not about AJ but about one of his friends, I’ll email it instead.

  8. freshhell permalink
    November 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    Glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t eat gravy.

  9. November 22, 2010 3:34 pm

    Wine? I hope I can drink again by Thursday.

Leave a Reply

