Skip to content

Chicken in the bread pan pickin’ at dough

December 11, 2010

I got up early this morning to make my first batch of Christmas cookies of the year.

This was a new recipe for me, and I have to say it was a winner. They are both cute and incredibly delicious — the best melt-in-your-mouth kind of buttery cookie. They are kind of time consuming to make, because you have to twist them all by hand, but it’s totally worth it. It was kind of fun and would probably be a great thing to do with those of Play-Doh age. Since I was baking them for our neighborhood’s annual Christmas party, which takes place at 10 a.m., the lengthy preparation meant that I was still in my powdered sugar-covered pajamas at 9:45. But I made it in time and there were plenty left over for future events.

Also a winner: my mixer.

I inherited it from my mother, who, I believe, received it as a wedding present in 1965. This is its 45th Christmas of churning out cookies. If truth be told, it sometimes smells a little funny when it’s been running for a while and occasionally needs a little manual assistance to keep the bowl going around. It’s still chugging away, but you have to treat it like an experienced but somewhat fragile and forgetful elderly relative.

I love all the speed settings. My favorite is “One Bowl Cakes.” This is not to be used for prepared cake mixes, however. Those get their own setting.

After I finally finished baking, I brought the cookies up the hill to the barn, where this happened:

Santa gave him a book about basketball and a copy of MAD magazine, which was a humongous hit with AJ’s friends. On the way home, he asked me, “Did you get this for me?”

“Santa gave it to you,” I said. I am the master of accurate but misleading answers. But AJ persisted.

“Where did you get this magazine? Do they have more?”

So I had no choice but to fess up. “Barnes and Noble, and no, but they thought there might be another one coming in soon. This one they’ve had for a while.”

“Could you get it for me for Christmas?”

“Put it on your list.”

I’m still not sure if his disbelief extends to the Santa who shows up at his house on Christmas or just to those numerous Santas who show up at assorted parties he attends. He’s seen two in the last two days alone, which makes it easy to compare notes. But unless he asks directly, I’m keeping my mouth shut.

“Mom?”

“Yes, AJ?”

“Thanks.”

“You’re welcome.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. eleanorio permalink
    December 11, 2010 7:37 pm

    Oh jeez, my mom had the exact same model. I don’t know what became of it. My brother probably threw it out, for all I know. Or didn’t, but then again, I don’t know. I remember all the things my mom used to make in hers, and how she would always pull out the plug when she wasn’t actually using it so it wouldn’t accidentally come on and hurt someone. So cool seeing those pictures. Thanks.

  2. December 12, 2010 9:31 am

    One of my favorite things about the mixer is remembering cooking with my mom when I was a child. And for the record, I always pull the plug too. I don’t even think about why. I suspect I inherited that tendency too.

  3. December 12, 2010 11:16 pm

    I think I had a very similar Sunbeam mixer until I gave it Kid B last year. It made some excellent cookies, and often had that electrical smell. I wonder if I should have given it to him, actually.

    Your cookies look delicious. And I love AJ’s skepticism. (Also, why is AJ such a BOY all of a sudden? I was sure that eight or so years ago he was a baby.)

  4. December 15, 2010 4:38 pm

    Oh! That mixer! It’s funny, it looks to me like my grandmother’s mixer – but maybe we had one like it when I was small, which would have been a wedding present to my mother in 1957. In any case, I *know* that mixer.

Leave a Reply

