Skip to content

Like a bad lobster in a dark cellar

December 16, 2010

Like a bad lobster in a dark cellar

I cranked out another job application Tuesday. This one was far easier than the first in part because there was much less to send and in part because I’d already done the legwork for the first one. I felt some degree of accomplishment when I hit send. I enjoyed it for about 35 seconds. That was about how long it took before I got a rejection letter from the first place I applied.

Mostly, though, I didn’t feel bad. I knew that first application was a total long shot for many reasons. I feel like I’m in the game, and right now, that’s enough.

Wednesday was nuts, but in a good way. I got up at 4 to write. Or rather, I got up at 4 and wrote. So by the time yoga class rolled around at 9:30, I felt like I’d earned a break. Afterwards, I had lunch with my friend/teacher and another friend/classmate in honor of the teacher’s birthday. Two hours and a whole pile of Indian food later, I made it home just in time to pick AJ up from school. I dragged him out for his Christmas haircut, made it home in time to pick up my fiddle and teaching bag, and headed out to Studio 2 to teach 5 lessons, the last before Sunday’s Christmas recital. Everyone’s doing great. A too long trip to the grocery store meant I got home just in time to read A Christmas Carol with AJ. It was his request this year, which made me happy. I’ve read this book out loud (or been read to out of it) every December for as long as I can remember, and I never tire of Dickens’ language. Last night we read the part about how Marley’s ghost glowed “like a bad lobster in a dark cellar,” which got AJ and I wondering just how toxic was a bad lobster. It’s a simile that almost demands a science experiment to back it up.

Today I spent an hour sending out email before I made it to the library, where I had the privilege of listening to inappropriate cell phone conversations in three different languages while writing for a few hours. Mr. Spy met me there after lunch and we made a whirlwind Christmas shopping trip before AJ got home. We bought nothing, but felt Christmasy afterwards.

And now we are home. I’m baking for teacher gifts. There’s only one teacher to bake for this year. Usually I’m making plates for the music, art and gym teachers and the librarian and maybe a classroom aide. All gone this year. Tomorrow is the last day of school before winter break. I’m heading in shortly after AJ to help with his class Christmas party. They’ve been studying Japan, so I think a lot of origami will be involved. I’m hoping I don’t have to demonstrate. I have little patience with folding paper.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. readersguide permalink
    December 17, 2010 2:48 am

    1. I think that’s an experiment you may not want to try.
    2. Oh, the librarian is gone, too! Of course she is, but it makes me sad all the same. I liked her.

  2. December 17, 2010 6:26 am

    So you won’t be joining me in folding your own senbazura this coming year?

    Did one in ’04, another in ’07 and am debating a third for ’11. Very relaxing — plus I could never resist buying packs and packs of squares at my favorite shop on the Ginza whenever I was in Tokyo. I have FAR more paper than I know what (else) to do with….

  3. December 17, 2010 8:27 am

    readersguide, yes, she’s gone too, although she was planning on retiring in two years. They offered her a classroom job at the middle school, since she’s been here so long and had classroom certification, but she decided that she didn’t want to switch gears this late in her career and decided to retire early instead. She lives only a few blocks from me, so I run into her every now and then. She’s very happy. She said the first couple of weeks after school started was hard, but she’s been thoroughly enjoying having her time to herself. IWOM, we might be. The project started because AJ’s class has been reading Sadako and The Paper Cranes, about a child sick from the radiation after the Hiroshima bombing. She starts folding a senbazura, but dies before she finishes. Her classmates complete it for her. AJ’s become really fascinated with Japanese culture and we had fun making the cranes. I think I learned last night that I need to have the right paper. The ones we made with actual origami paper were much better looking. The construction paper ones were a disaster.

  4. freshhell permalink
    December 17, 2010 10:32 am

    Dusty’s been big on origami lately. Lass sent her a kit last summer when she was sick and she got work making flowers and cranes and things. She’s much better at it than I am but that’s not news.

  5. December 18, 2010 1:12 pm

    No doubt about it:the right paper is needed for happy folding.

    I started my love affair with origami in a winter term class taken in the Quad my first year at the Old Stomping Grounds. Can’t remember who taught it but it was four classes total and in the final class we did cranes.

    Himself brought me a whole bunch of proper paper after his first work trip to Japan in 2003. We were still in London then so I got the rest of what I needed for the first senbazura at the Japan Centre on Picadilly.

    Autumn 2006 found Himself in Japan again for work so I had him get me more for the second senbazura. Hong Kong had a number of Japanese department stores that I would frequent so before we left to return to Scotland I made sure I had enough for a third and fourth should inspiration strike.

    Now that graduate school is appealing to me less and less I have a list of other things to keep me out of trouble in ’11. This is on the list!

Leave a Reply

