Skip to content

So many presents, so little time

January 3, 2011

After spending some time at rock band camp, AJ’s been interested in really learning to play guitar. He’s also developing an interest in song writing. As far as the latter goes, his primary influence seems to be Adam Sandler, whose songs I introduced him to a few weeks ago. Yesterday he played me a two-chord song (e-minor and a minor) he wrote for which the lyrics are as follows:

I’m so bored!
I’m so bored!
I’m so bored!
I’m so bored!

[repeat until you are so bored that you doze off, drop the guitar against the amp and set off an ear-splitting round of feedback]

Cleaning up his room after he left for school today, I also found a set of lyrics he appears to have written to the tune of “Jingle Bells”:

Tumblin’ down the hill
on a pair of broken skis
right onto the pond,
slide into a tree

calling out for help
no one can hear me
lying in the snow
looking for my keys.

Oh, 911, 911
siren getting close
I really should have fixed my skis
and now I have to pee.

Oh, 911, 911
siren getting close
I really should have fixed my skis
and now-I-have-to-pee

[I suspect the dashes in the last line are meant to indicate a ritard]

I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

[Second post today; click back for a New Year’s meme]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 3, 2011 1:01 pm

    The first song reminds me of the Young Ones episode entitled “Bored” in which Vivian smashes everyone over the head with a cricket bat. Here’s a 16 second clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfjGRBFd7mQ

  2. January 3, 2011 1:06 pm

    Oh, man, AJ is going to LOVE that. Thanks, freshhell!

  3. eleanorio permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:24 pm

    Weird Al Yankovich, watch out!

  4. crankygirl permalink
    January 4, 2011 12:58 pm

    Does he know the “smelly cat” song from Friends?

Leave a Reply

