Skip to content

If I could sleep forever

January 7, 2011

I cannot express to you how happy I am to report that the latest postdoc occupation is in the mail. Or rather, it will be soon, but I have paid someone else to take care of getting all 72 pages where they need to go. This one was a pain in the Ass with a capital A. Some of it was the application itself. I hate it when applications request a list of documents and make some of them optional. What is the point of that? If it’s there, I feel like I have to send it. But I have to wonder if they really wanted 72 pages. In this case, the optional things were lengthy – teaching evaluations and syllabi that amounted to a full third of the page count. This application was also the only one I’ve done this year that requested a postal delivery – most applications now are sent digitally. So what’s even worse is that all 72 of those pages will be duplicated for the committee and recycled afterwards. What a waste of paper.

The other part of the problem was technical. Since this postdoc, like most, includes both teaching and research, but emphasizes the latter (despite all the pages of teaching info they asked for). Because of this, they asked for a research plan. This was not really a problem. I’ve got one and I only needed to tweak it a little to make it less ethnomusicological (see my post a couple of days ago explaining that if you’re interested). But I had to double its length. And although it wasn’t specified, I knew the part that needed to be most fleshed out is my second book project. The first book project will be based on the diss and it was described elsewhere and they had a writing sample of part of it. But the second project was super-sketchy. So I had to do a little more research to pin down some facts. I settled in for a late night of research and writing after AJ went to bed last night to get to it. Unfortunately for me, the university’s proxy server, which is what allows me to ask university-subscribed materials like newspaper archives and digital journal articles and books, kept crashing. I raged against the machine for a while hoping to finish things up, but I finally gave up around 1:30. I decided to try a fresh start in the morning.

So this morning, in need of feeling professional and motivated, I actually dressed in something I might wear to work, packed my bags and headed to the library shortly after it opened. And the damned thing got done. The good thing about not finishing things at night is that you get to start your day with crossing something off your list. It was only 10:30 and I already felt successful. And I still had time to work on my chapter edit, which is what I need to get back to.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 2:35 pm

    Yeah! Lots of luck.

  2. freshhell permalink
    January 7, 2011 3:00 pm

    Best of luck. I love that you accidentally wrote “occupation” instead of application. Because….same thing, right? 🙂

    Best of luck!!

  3. freshhell permalink
    January 7, 2011 3:00 pm

    Eh, and I just noticed I repeated myself there but just consider it extra luck.

  4. January 7, 2011 3:06 pm

    Hee. Let’s hope I did a better job proofreading my application.

  5. January 7, 2011 8:03 pm

    Sounds like showing up really is half the battle. Glad you had a victory.

Leave a Reply

