Skip to content

The Blob

January 8, 2011

This was the first Saturday in a long time where we didn’t have much on the schedule. Mr. Spy and AJ had a basketball practice this morning, but after that, nada. It was lovely.

We managed to keep busy, though. After practice, AJ worked on his latest film. He picked up a book on animation at the bookstore yesterday and he’s been making a series of claymation shorts that he hopes to string together into something longer eventually. In today’s installment, His clay figure got in a fight with a small stuffed Santa Claus. Here is my favorite of his films so far, Blob Hero:

After the movie studio closed down for the day, AJ and I worked on building a model vinegar distillation plant using the girder and panel hydrodynamic set he got for Christmas, which looks like it’s going to be even cooler than we thought. Then we got started on his Pinewood Derby car. AJ is determined to make his car look like a piece of Swiss Cheese this year. Here’s hoping we can pull it off.

After lunch, Mr. Spy and I went skating on the pond behind the drugstore. Boys were playing hockey on the groomed rinks, so we took off down the pond instead. The ice was lousy, but it was a nice day and it was fun to be outside. After we got back, I dropped AJ at a friend’s house for a couple of hours to play. This left me with a chunk of time to do some diss work. When AJ got back, Mr. Spy took him to the library and I decided to practice the guitar, which I’ve been messing around with lately. I found the guitar tab for the “Sleep” by the Dandy Warhols, which has a pretty, slow, and very repetitive arpeggiated guitar part — perfect for a beginner. And while I’m still not down with the finger picking (the right hand is the biggest challenge for someone used to holding a bow), I’m getting enough of it to play along with the recording, which is highly satisfying.

We all made dinner together while listening to A Prairie Home Companion, our Saturday night tradition. Afterwards, I did a little more writing, this time on some fiction I’ve had in the back of my head for a while. And then I taught AJ the second guitar part for “Sleep.” We practiced together for a little while — he on his electric, me on my acoustic — and then we both played along with the song. I don’t think there’s anything I enjoy quite as much as making music with my kid. Except maybe an entire day of creative endeavors.

Sorry. Weekend posts always seem to be a catalog of activities. There’s not a lot of time for reflection when everyone’s home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 9, 2011 12:30 pm

    I like this Blob guy. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

