Skip to content

The weather outside is frightful

January 11, 2011

It is snowing, snowing, snowing and I am wondering if I’m going to be able to make it to Studio 2 for my 2:00. I guess we’ll find out soon enough.

Last night’s lesson marathon was strangely energizing, even when my preschoolers showed up in a particularly hyper state. Afterwards, I ended out chatting with the mandolin teacher who took a few violin lessons with me. He plays fiddle in his band sometimes and I was asking about his thoughts on electric violins vs. violins with pick-up mikes (for the non-audiophiles among you, that means a mike that’s attached to the instrument rather than a mike you play into). He loaned me one of his to try. The cord port clamps to the side of the instrument and the pickup, a tiny metal square attached to the port with a narrow wire, slips between the bridge filigree, where it picks up vibrations. I haven’t had a chance to give it a go yet, but I’m looking forward to running off with AJ’s amp and distortion box in the not-too-distant future. I’m a little afraid, though, that the amp is just going to amplify all my imperfections.

I also talked with the owner about my attempts at guitar-playing (he’s a guitarist and guitar teacher) as I asked for a set of acoustic strings. He told me to bring in the instrument and they’d set it up for me, even though I warned him that it was a vintage Sears guitar that has been living in a basement without a case for many years. Also, I’m pretty sure there’s a Lego inside it that I can’t seem to get out. I was hoping to take the guitar in today because a) one of the strings currently on it is the wrong size, b) the last couple of times I’ve tried to change strings, I’ve broken them and c) I’m a guitar-playing fool these days. But that and my planned trip to the post office are on hold, thanks to the weather.

Time to stop stalling and start shoveling. Wish me luck.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 3:06 pm

    Maybe that’s the problem in Atlanta right now. No one owns a snow shovel. We’re just sitting on our a$$es waiting for the temps to go up and melt it all away. The city doesn’t own snow plows, but eventually puts salt on major problem areas. If you can get as far as the problem areas.

    Today I sent hubby out with the sledders. They aren’t back- which might be a good sign. Thought it might be all ice today and not good for sledding. They were getting stir crazy so I don’t want them back too soon.

  2. January 11, 2011 9:07 pm

    Now everyone’s going to want a genuine lego vibration in her guitar!

Leave a Reply

