Skip to content

Now with audio

January 13, 2011

In case anyone’s interested, here’s the recording that was played on the radio this morning. This was the last concert the group gave, and probably our weakest performance for a bunch of reasons. It is, however, our only recording on CD — all earlier performances are on DAT. While I hope to have the DATs converted one of these days, this is what I’ve got for now. I believe that I’m singing the incipit (the very first solo part) but someone else is singing the rest of the solos. I’m not entirely sure about that, though. We sang together for long enough that it can be hard to tell who’s doing what.

I’ve removed the name of the group, because I don’t want to be traceable to my real name. A little info about the pieces, though. The “Gloriose” was part of a friend’s dissertation. He transcribed a bunch of chants linked to Charlemagne and asked me if I could put together a group to sing them. This one was so beautiful that I programmed it in a concert the following season. As far as I know, it is the only recording of this piece in existence. The Byrd Mass for 4 voices, on the other hand, is well-trod ground, but also beautiful. We did the entire Mass in the performance. This is just the first movement.

As for the visuals, well, I had to stick something up there in order to attach the audio. So you get a picture I took at the pond down the street a couple of winters ago.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 7:36 am

    I can’t hear anything weak about that.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

