Skip to content

Cafe au lait

January 18, 2011

It is snowing like crazy, so I’m glad that all of my adventures requiring a car today were fairly close. I spent an hour this morning at a lovely new coffee shop in a town to ours with an owner who’s fun to talk to, but still lets you work, great coffee, and music I like (so far: Simon and Garfunkel, early Beatles and Stones, and Cat Stevens – probably showing my age and hippie-like tendencies here). It’s cozy and warm in here – a perfect place to work and watch the snow bury my car.

AJ’s uncle was supposed to take AJ to a hockey game this afternoon, but the snow put the kibosh on that. Instead, he took a train out here and hung out with AJ while Mr. Spy and I did some work.

The drive to School of Rock was a bit of an adventure. Apparently the snow plows are all celebrating Martin Luther King Day (observed). But my students all showed up. And I came home with a capo and a bunch of new picks, which meant, of course, that I had to do my best Stevie Nicks impression while butchering “Landslide.” This guitar thing – it’s a sickness.

I think AJ is more than ready to go back to school tomorrow. We had a good time tonight building the White House out of Legos and discussing Greek mythology. But after three days of too many parents, he’s looking forward to seeing some friends tomorrow. Even though he is, of course, still wishing for a snow day. He’s still nine.

Me? I’m hoping for clear sailing to the library tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 18, 2011 7:36 am

    We have ice and thus another two-hour school delay. Sigh.

  2. January 18, 2011 8:17 am

    There is more ground than ice/snow today and after two weeks of xmas break, four days of school, five snow days and one holiday… my kids couldn’t wait to go to school this morning!

    I wish Pook and AJ could do lego together. Pook wants Mindstorm for his 10th b’day. He was given some lego motors and has a remote controlled lego car. He’s experimenting with combining them into a remote shooting vehicle. He’s using a gun that shoots marbles (from Bionicle?) and trying to set it off with the motor while on the remote base. Such an engineering brain.

  3. January 18, 2011 8:27 am

    I bet they would have fun together. Andy’s coming to Legos a little later than some of his friends, mainly because, I think, because he didn’t used to like kits and that’s how most of the Lego in this house arrived. But he’s extremely interested in architecture these days, so all of a sudden it’s all Lego all the time. He’s been doing prefab kits this week, but he’s very interested in how they work, how they decided to put them together, so I think the wheels are turning for how to invent his own constructions. Those Mindstorm sets are very cool. One of the gifted enrichment programs around here does Mindstorm classes in the summer. I’ve always signed up too late before, but I may try to get him into one this summer.

  4. January 18, 2011 10:49 am

    I’m trying to imagine being brave enough about driving in snow to sit calmly in a place that’s not my house and watch the car get buried. Nope, not working.

Leave a Reply

