Skip to content

How Superman Plays the Violin

January 18, 2011

“I had so much exercise yesterday that I’m so strong that I lifted a car before I came here.”

I looked at him with one eyebrow raised, trying to figure out how he wanted me to respond.

“Really? A real car?”

“Yes, a real car. I lifted it up myself.”

“Wow, you must be as strong as Superman.”

He looked at me with disdain. “I am stronger than Superman. He is not that strong. Bane — he’s a villain in Batman – he can lift a car, though. He’s the strongest.”

His violin is sagging off his neck.

“Okay, strong man, let’s see if you can hold up that violin of yours.”

He smiles at me and pushes his glasses up his nose. “Well, I’m not QUITE as strong now. It’s wearing off.”

“I bet you’re strong enough to hold up the violin. Let’s see if you’re strong enough to play it.”

He put his bow to the string and pretended the bow was really, really heavy. He scrapes a long grinding sound from the A string at an excruciatingly slow speed.

“But if you’re super strong, don’t you think the bow should feel super light?”

“Maybe you’re right.” He pulled the bow, fast and light, across the A string in a beautiful bell tone.

“Now that’s what I’m talking about. THAT is how Superman plays the violin.”

“Superman doesn’t play the violin.”

“He does now.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 8:14 am

    Awesome! I’m going to try that kind of motivation with my kid when he plays!

  2. freshhell permalink
    January 19, 2011 9:04 am

    Hilarious. I had a dream this morning that you came to visit me and my filthy house. I couldn’t interest you in doing anything else but playing with the kids’ playmobil stuff.

  3. January 19, 2011 9:32 am

    Are you sure that wasn’t a vision from the future, freshhell? I *really* love Playmobil.

  4. January 19, 2011 9:45 am

    Ok, my family has an ongoing giggle over the phrase “pushes his glasses up his nose”. Pook thinks it would hurt.

  5. freshhell permalink
    January 19, 2011 10:13 am

    Maybe it was. I went out to feed the cats and wanted to introduce you to them but you weren’t interested and then all these very large (wolf-sized), unknown cats showed up, wanting food.

  6. cranky permalink
    January 20, 2011 9:54 pm

    Good thing you are the one who had a boy–I can’t imagine having your patience and good humor in that conversation.

Trackbacks

  1. Tutorial « spynotes
  2. Mailbag « spynotes
  3. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

