Skip to content

Beep beep, mmm, beep beep yeah

January 20, 2011

Lately I’ve been putting in my headphones while walking to yoga. I think it’s a winter thing. It drowns out the deafening silence from the lack of birds. But it also lets me concentrate. I’ve been using the time of my short walk to listen to the songs I’m trying to learn on guitar. I was wrapped up in the architecture of the song and thinking about fingerings when, as I rounded the corner into the parking lot of the yoga studio yesterday, the door of the van next to me slid out and someone yelled out my name from about two feet away.

After I recovered from my heart attack, I was shocked and thrilled to see my friend D. jumping out to hug me. I first met D in classes I took at another yoga studio. Eventually I started taking classes with her. A couple of years ago, she moved to New Mexico to live at an ashram. She got married a few months ago and I hadn’t heard from her in a while and I haven’t seen her since she moved away. I had no idea she was in town.

Yoga class ended up feeling like a big family reunion. D wasn’t the only one who came back. She brought with her several other friends who’ve moved on to other studios for their yoga fix. And she brought her new husband who was very shy and quiet at first, but who turned out to have a wicked sense of humor. The room was full. It’s amazing how much more fun yoga class is in a room full of friends. And that’s saying something, because it’s pretty fun when you’re all by yourself too.

This morning, in between bouts of writing and writers block, I’ve been belting out “Angel of Montgomery” with my guitar. I’m starting to get the hang of these chords enough that I can sing and play at the same time. I need some schooling in right hand technique though. The chords are mostly right now, but they sound like hell.

And for this afternoon, a haircut; and, in preparation, some serious soul-searching about bangs. Because if I’m going to play a middle-aged rock star, I should at least look like one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 2:18 pm

    You don’t look middle-aged to me, and you look ancient to your kid’s friends–as we all do–so you might as well suit yourself!

  2. freshhell permalink
    January 20, 2011 2:41 pm

    We’re all living til at least 100 so you aren’t officially middle-aged yet.

  3. January 20, 2011 8:02 pm

    Apparently Demi Moore has full bangs again. I don’t know why I know this. Personally, I’ve always kept a thin amount. I have too much forehead otherwise.

    CD’s mom just got a guitar and amp for her 80th birthday. Be glad you’re learning so young!

Leave a Reply

