Skip to content

In the cedar limbs

January 21, 2011

We are complaining about the weather again. It is part of the sociability of winter. But whenever the temperature begins with a minus sign, I feel we may be justified. Nevertheless, the brilliant sunshine may be worth it.

I am sitting in the library with a new pair of contact lenses trying to decide whether the fact that I can’t read the shelf labels on the far side of the room bothers me. It’s been two years since my last eye appointment and my eyes haven’t changed, which is good news. But in order to bypass bifocals, I opted to take my prescription down a notch to better balance my need to read things within arm’s reach with my need to not bump into things. I’m still on the fence. I’m not psychologically ready for bifocals.

I am also not psychologically ready for the pile of books about Habermas on my desk. I’m thinking I may save them for another day. But there is work to be done. I’m restless and wrestling with merging two chapters into one. Does it still make sense? I’m not sure. Is it too long? Probably. Am I burying the lede? I hope not, but maybe. The first half revisions were easy. This is the meat and potatoes. I need to remember to allow my head time to get around the problem. I want to pace around, but I’m in the library and I can’t, which is actually why I’m here. Sometimes it helps to tie yourself to a chair for a few hours.

AJ has a big weekend with basketball games and the Pinewood Derby. This year, he decided to focus on aerodynamics rather than style and opted for a wedge-shaped car, which he has painted to look like a piece of Swiss cheese. We are not sure that it actually does look like it. We are not very artistic, AJ and I, or, rather, we are not patient enough for art. His car looks more like a wedge of giraffe. But he is pleased with it and as soon as we get it up to weight, it should run. It looks as if I’ll be taking it to his pack meeting without him tonight, as he will be playing basketball. I’m sure you can imagine how much I am looking forward to that.

I am getting cabin fever, tired of wearing down my familiar ruts, in need of some company other than those I live with, but unsure where to find it and pretty sure it doesn’t mean Cub Scouts. But on a day when the snow sparkles like diamonds but the air freezes on its way into your lungs, this may not be the occasion to find it. I’d settle today for a pot of tea and a good pair of slippers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 12:53 pm

    “Wedge of giraffe” is my new fantasy band name.

  2. January 21, 2011 1:06 pm

    photo please?

  3. freshhell permalink
    January 21, 2011 2:10 pm

    I need an escape too but it won’t happen until the end of March. Sigh.

  4. January 21, 2011 7:25 pm

    I will see what I can do. Mr. Spy has my camera at the moment.

Leave a Reply

