Skip to content

Hush hush

January 26, 2011

I can tell February is approaching, because I feel like nothing is happening. Nothing worth writing about, anyway. And yet, here I sit.

• I’ve been listening to the song I posted two days ago a little obsessively (it seems to be how I do most things these days). Mostly I put it on when I’m going to sleep, because it’s good for that. But it leaves me with random ominous phrases from the lyrics sifting through my consciousness – “Dreams are for those who sleep in bed,” “It’s a sin to put words in the mouths of the dead” – resulting in a sense of fatalism for the day that even a truly excellent yoga class couldn’t quite shake.

• Mr. Spy’s computer is dying. We need to get him a new one. I’m not sure how that’s going to happen. But we’re time sharing my computer at the moment, which is challenging.

• AJ faked throwing up and a fever this morning to try to get out of going to school. It didn’t work. He’s not very thorough, so it didn’t work. But I’m wondering what that’s about and can’t seem to get any info out of him.

• I am trying to decide whether to head to Cincinnati for a conference in March. Tempting and probably a good idea what with being on the job market and all. But poorly timed and possibly expensive.

• A friend of mine subbed in AJ’s class earlier this week. I ran into her unexpectedly this morning. She told me she was amazed at his knowledge about the St. Lawrence Seaway. I am wondering where said knowledge comes from. Certainly not from me.

• I’m trying to get in a little work before I head out to teach. I’ve got a new student tonight and a 4-hour block of lessons without pause. It’s the way I like to do it. It goes fast. But I’ll be both tired and wired when I get home. I predict a late night on the stationary bike to burn off the wiredness and a video with headphones while Mr. Spy sleeps.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    January 26, 2011 3:42 pm

    Faking being sick? Wow. What is that all about? I was able to do this without going to that much trouble as a kid once my mom was working but she wasn’t really paying very close attention by then. I hated middle school with a passion it was sometimes my only out. Was there a test today?

    And, yeah, nothing worth writing about. My problem is I have things I want to write about but nothing I can write about in a public forum. Frustrating.

  2. January 26, 2011 3:58 pm

    I’m trying to get all keyed up for Valentines Day. SOMEthing to take my mind of the nothingness of this time of year.

  3. January 26, 2011 5:14 pm

    I’m still in the busy mode that starts with Thanksgiving here and doesn’t end until Bug’s birthday next week. I’m hosting a slumber party for five 7yo’s. (insert laugh track) Then I will breathe easy for the next six months. (more laughter)

    Keyed up for Valentines Day? Celebrated here by taking paper valentines to the classroom for the shoebox mailboxes. No “keying up” required.

  4. January 26, 2011 8:39 pm

    We’re about three hours from Cincinnati and a free place to stay if you want one on the way down there. (Last time we came from near your house it took about 8 hours.)

  5. readersguide permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:15 am

    Extremely accurate description of february, and I wonder what’s up with AJ. That’s pretty thorough — maybe he was just testing out the method? I always found that just a subtle stomach ache worked pretty well — got my out of church for years.

  6. Peti permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:38 pm

    Come to the conference in March! Cincy doesn’t bite, I promise.

Trackbacks

  1. Nothing to see here « Readers Guide to . . .

Leave a Reply

