Skip to content

VD

February 14, 2011

Happy Valentine’s Day from AJ!

It should not be much of an event here. We celebrated at breakfast. Mr. Spy gave me three paintings he made for me and AJ gave me a card. Mr. Spy has requested that I play R.E.M.’s Endgame for him, but I’m having trouble with the chorus, which has barre chords that I haven’t yet been able to figure out. I may haul the guitar to work tonight for assistance and I’m thinking that this song may have to wait until Father’s Day. I gave him the CD it appears on instead — one of the few R.E.M. albums Mr. Spy doesn’t have (well, he has it, but it’s on cassette, and therefore pretty useless to us). AJ was supposed to spend his Valentine’s Day afternoon at a friend’s house, but his mom called this morning and he came down with the mumps. Really. And he was vaccinated. So no play date with him for a while, poor kid. In lieu of a nice Valentine’s Day dinner, I’m teaching a 4 hour block of lessons, including a new student. I’m hoping for Mexican food afterwards. Probably, now that I think about it, about the worst cuisine for a romantic holiday. But a Monday night margarita will feel like a holiday to me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 14, 2011 12:51 pm

    Funny. Both kids have asked me about mumps this weekend. It’s come up…I don’t remember why. Things we were reading? And I had to try to remember what the symptoms are. But, I followed up with, “But you’ve been vaccinated against it so don’t worry.” Maybe I should worry? Sigh.

  2. February 14, 2011 1:46 pm

    Walker got the chicken pox after being vaccinated for it, but I’m told that’s not too unusual. I’ve never heard of getting the mumps after getting the vaccine! Before your kids go off to college (I know, it seems a long way away) you should get them the meningitis vaccine–it’s only for the viral kind, but that’s a dorm-happy, scary disease they can avoid.

  3. February 14, 2011 2:21 pm

    mumps!! holy schmolly!

  4. February 15, 2011 1:31 am

    Himself requested fajitas for the 14th but we went with Coronas with lime slices as Tuesday is a flying morning. Once we start making margaritas we have trouble stopping….

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

