Skip to content

Beatles 3000

February 17, 2011

I think my chosen profession has just been maligned:

9 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 17, 2011 2:24 pm

    But maligned hilariously. Layla in the sky for the benefit of Shaft!

  2. February 17, 2011 2:43 pm

    It was Scottie Pippen that made me laugh until I cried. But maybe you had to be in Chicago in the early 90s to fully appreciate that.

  3. February 17, 2011 3:38 pm

    Sgt. Pet Sounds! This is amazing.

  4. eleanorio permalink
    February 17, 2011 11:16 pm

    Oh my god, thank you for posting that, I loved it!

  5. February 17, 2011 11:43 pm

    I especially like the musical reconstruction ending with part of the Cheers theme. I’ve watched this at least 5 times today and it’s still cracking me up.

  6. February 18, 2011 7:38 am

    Cheers…that’s where that tune was from! I liked the way they did this with only the notes A through G while competing with Hemingway. And as a former Steely Dan fan, I liked the “Spiders from Aja” subtitle!

  7. February 18, 2011 7:39 am

    Have you ever read Motel of the Mysteries? By David MacAulay. Very much along the same lines.

  8. February 18, 2011 9:27 am

    I like too like the concept of a Bowie/Steely Dan mashup. And Motel of Mysteries has been a favorite since childhood. My middle school gifted ed teacher introduced it to us and built a project around it where we had to write about an object as if we were aliens discovering it as archaeologists. Actually, I should probably get this for AJ. I remember looking at it with him at the library when he was little, but I’m sure he’d appreciate it more now.

  9. cranky permalink
    February 18, 2011 1:20 pm

    This is fantastic — no Ringo!

Leave a Reply

