Skip to content

Mired

February 23, 2011

I thought I had posted this yesterday, but apparently I hit the wrong button:

AJ stayed home from school today. When he woke up, he still had a fever of 101 for the third day running. Tylenol and ibuprofen seem to do nothing to help. So we paid a visit to his wonderful osteopathic pediatrician. When he sat down on the examining table across from me, I was shocked by how enormous he gland in the left side of his neck was. The doctor looked him over and was pretty convinced he had strep, but the test came back negative. She put him on antibiotics anyway to see if they help. If he’s not better by Friday, they will test for mono, which is the next most likely culprit. Mono’s a bad diagnosis. When I had it, I was in bed for a month. And since it’s a viral disease, there’s really nothing you can do but wait it out. I really hope it’s not mono.

AJ is a bit of a hypochondriac by nature and is completely freaked out by the possibilities, by the way his neck feels. We are distracting him with science experiments and books and video games.

In other news, I’ve been doing a lot of writing, but not always of the right kind. The things that need to be getting done are moving like molasses in January. But part of my brain thinks that writing is writing. I keep trying to tell that part of my brain to get a haircut and a job, but it just doesn’t listen to me. This week’s score: novel 1, dissertation 0. I will attempt to remedy that this evening on the late shift.

I had a great lesson with my 7-year-old homeschooler today. I introduced him to composition basics last week and this week he came in with a page of music that he’d written. First he wrote himself a warm-up exercise that was all over the violin. Then he copied out Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star from Memory. Then he wrote a short piece in AABA form. It was awesome. On the drive home I started thinking about putting together a composition class for kids, one I could teach through the local park district or the gifted program at the community college. I’m going to mull this over for while, but I think this could be interesting. The College has asked me to propose classes for their homeschooling and summer programs and and this might fit the bill.

And now I must get back to prettifying the data for AJ’s science fair project. Science Fair on Friday. Will AJ be able to attend? Stay tuned.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 24, 2011 8:46 am

    I hope AJ doesn’t have mono but if not that, what? Frustrating. The class idea sounds great. I hope that works out for you.

  2. February 24, 2011 10:32 am

    It’s never fun to have a sick kid, but I can’t help thinking that it’s better to have mono young than to get it during your first semester of college, as so many kids do.

  3. February 24, 2011 11:40 am

    Hope he’s better soon. My little guy had strep in late December and it was fierce. If it is viral… we’ve been using a lot of elderberry extract, which is available mixed with honey from health-food stores or from the regular old pharmacies as Sambucol. Good luck….

  4. February 27, 2011 10:58 pm

    Heide, I hadn’t heard of elderberry extract, but I’ll give it a try sometime. There’s an excellent health food store in the next town. I’m sure they’ll have it.

Leave a Reply

