Skip to content

Into the light of a dark black night

February 26, 2011

This week, it is kicking me in the tukhus. [tuckus? tuchus? I’m not sure I’ve ever used that word in a written context before]. I apologize for my frequent absences.

• Last night’s science fair went very well. AJ impressed us with his ability to talk about his project with grownups. The judge who interviewed him was really awesome and asked him lots of good and challenging questions about his project. (The fair isn’t actually judged – they call them judges, but really they just come around and interview each kid about their project and then they sign a certificate that every kid gets for participating. It’s more about giving kids the chance to an adult about what they did, in preparation for more competitive science fairs to come). He was also great with all the little kids who wanted to play with his cars. This was his fifth science fair and it’s really amazing to me how much he’s grown. AJ’s usually very shy with grownups he doesn’t know, but he was very articulate about the project this time.

• This morning, AJ’s neck was almost back to normal, so he got to play in the last basketball game of the season. And although it looked like he wasn’t feeling 100 percent, he still got in a couple of great plays and they ended their season with another win for a 9-1 record. He was very excited. Next up: football signups, baseball hitting camp, the basketball all-star game, and baseball season, in that order. This boy likes his sports.

• This afternoon I taught a makeup lesson to one of my advanced students, who had a small breakthrough with a technical problem she’s been having. It’s perfect timing, because her next lesson is on Wednesday. It’s nice to reinforce those things quickly, so it’s good not to have to wait a week for a lesson. Afterwards, I drove out to meet my friend H at a sample sale at the Eileen Fisher outlet, a store she introduced to me years ago and which has since provided a hefty chunk of my wardrobe (including the sweater I’m wearing right now). By the time I got there, they were pretty much cleaned out of my size, but H cleaned up and we had a nice time visiting while we defended our shared dressing room from would-be-usurpers. It was cut-throat!

• After I got back, AJ and I played a rousing game of Sorry and then went out and shoveled the driveway and made snow angels and slid down the hilly side of the driveway on our shovels. Okay, that last one was mostly AJ, who also invented a way of getting a running start and skidding down the driveway, shovel down, toward the large snowbank left over from the blizzard. At the last minute, he’d toss the snow and the shovel over the embankment before slamming his body into it and flipping over, at which point he’d lie flat on his back on the driveway until I’d ask if he was dead. Then he’d get up and do the whole thing over again. It may not have been the most efficient way of shoveling the driveway, but it sure looked fun. And the job got done without any whining, although I did, at one point, wonder if I should have made him wear a helmet.

• Beyond that, I’m trying to dig out from under the paperwork that’s been piling up on my desk and learn to play “Blackbird” on the guitar. I can now play something recognizable as a very slow version of the tune. It’s very fun to play, now that I’m getting more comfortable with big slides up and down the neck. The finger patterns appeal to me. It’s a very different way of thinking about fingering than violin. It feels almost like choreography.

• Tomorrow is the Blue and Gold dinner, the annual Cub Scout rite of torture passage. It is four fricking hours of excruciating boredom and bad food. I can’t wait until it’s over. Also, I should probably be sewing patches on AJ’s uniform right now, but I just don’t want to. Maybe in the morning.

What have you been doing this weekend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 3:10 pm

    Sugru. I’ve been sugruing things. It’s the awesome.

    http://sugru.com/

    And right now I’m listening to George Clinton – Give Up the Funk/Tear the Roof Off.

  2. February 27, 2011 7:56 pm

    We went to see Let Me Down Easy, a one-woman show by Anna Deveare Smith, and it was great.

  3. February 27, 2011 10:02 pm

    When you said “makeup lesson” I thought you meant cosmetics. I must need sleep. I’ve been painting things and eating – a very enjoyable weekend.

  4. February 27, 2011 10:43 pm

    Oops. Probably should have been “make-up.” But I’m not sure that’s any easier to read. Trust me, though. No one wants me to teach them about makeup/make-up/make up. Jeanne, I love ADS. I’m glad it was great. And magpie, I’ve never heard of sugru, but now I’m thinking I need to track some down.

  5. February 28, 2011 11:54 am

    Sugru must be ordered from England. It’s not a lot of money, and it is insanely cool. I made stoppers at the top of a sweater zipper (that I’d cut down) so the zipper slide won’t fly off. I made feet for a little ceramic bowl, to replace the felt feet it had – because the felt feet can’t go in the dishwasher. And I made two pins out of cobbled together bits and pieces of stuff that was kicking around – pins like to wear – brooches.

Leave a Reply

