Skip to content

In the weeds

March 21, 2011

Thanks to all who commented on my last post. I am normally a great believe in philosophies like Jeanne‘s “Where there is tea, there is hope.” But every now and then the floodgates open and I can’t find my way out of the deluge.

But there is nowhere to move but on, and I am grateful that there is so much going on to keep me distracted. It’s true, by the way, about AJ’s first grade teacher. It will be announced officially at the board meeting tonight, the meeting I will not be attending, because I will be teaching. Ironic? A little. One thing that always does help me in situations like this is, as as My Kids’ Mom said, is if there is something to do. And what I will do is write a letter to AJ’s teacher, the school principal, the School Board and the superintendent, about her. I was going back through some of my blog entries about her, every one of them a rave.

We were nervous about AJ in first grade, his first year of all-day school. Would he be challenged enough? Here is where we first met her and she already impressed us with her rapport with the students. here is where we first found out how his teacher was onto him.

Meanwhile, there’s little time for obsessing over injustice. There are things to do! Birthday parties to plan for. AJ turns 10 on Friday. Amazing. And vacations to prepare for. And chapters to finish. And taxes to do. And other panic-inducing things.

AJ is busy too. He has a presentation tomorrow in which he has to present a book report in class on a biography as if he is the subject of said biography. The biographies had to be about women or African-Americans. He picked a book about Jackie Robinson written by his dad and I spent most of yesterday afternoon downloading a Brooklyn Dodgers logo and numbers, printing them on transfer sheets, cutting them out with an X-Acto knife (a highly time-consuming process) and ironing it all together. AJ spent a lot of the weekend working on both the written and oral parts of his project. He also spent some time wondering how his (male) friend will be dressing up — he picked Mia Hamm.

“He’ll probably just wear his soccer uniform.”

“But he should wear a girl’s soccer uniform.”

AJ is also looking forward to Friday, when he will finally be ten. There will be Montessori birthday ceremony (oops– I’ve got more homework. AJ and I need to fill out the information his teacher needs for this) and Doughnut holes. After school, we’re taking AJ and a few of his friends to the movie theater to see the new Diary of a Wimpy Kid movie that comes out that day, and to eat pizza and cupcakes. We’re joining forces with his friend N, whose birthday is the same day. Still to be purchased: present for N, present for AJ, balloons, pretzels, etc.

And then we head for the beach. Just a few more days. I am not even close to being ready. I can’t even imagine how I’m going to get ready. But today I stopped the mail and the paper and made a hotel reservation for the trip down. So I guess we’re really going. I’m also trying to finalize my trip to New York in three weeks. Yikes. It’s going to be May before I know it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 2:50 pm

    I love to be quoted, but what did I say?

    And what is a Montessori birthday ceremony? And how did our boys get to ten? (cuz if yours is, mine will be soon)

  2. lemming permalink
    March 21, 2011 4:11 pm

    I think your plans for action, both the letter writing and the personal life activities, are very wise.

    One of the most gifted teachers I’ve ever met lost his gig earlier this year because he spent two weeks in the hospital. Breaks my heart.

  3. freshhell permalink
    March 21, 2011 5:04 pm

    Happy almost birthday to AJ! Ten is good even though Dusty looks like a teenager now with her braces. 😦 Also, have fun at the beach!

  4. March 21, 2011 7:48 pm

    I hope your letter writing is cathartic. What’s happening to teachers everywhere is so very frustrating. I can trace a direct line back from my interest in film and creative writing to one excellent gifted English teacher I had the pleasure of studying under in 7th and 8th grade. I think everyone should have a teacher like that, every effing year. Instead we’re going the other way.

Leave a Reply

