Skip to content

Damn the torpedos

March 23, 2011

I am not getting things checked off my to-do list nearly fast enough. If I don’t do better, this is very much going to be a working vacation. Oh, hell, it’s going to have to be a working vacation anyway. But working near the beach with copious amounts of tea and wine? I think I can live with that.

Among the things I need to finish is a worksheet AJ needs to bring to school for his birthday. His teacher is a former Montessori teacher and she does the traditional Montessori “walk around the sun” for each year of his life. During each pass, they say things about what was significant for each year. But she can’t do it without our help. I wouldn’t be much help either if it weren’t for this here blog and its predecessor. AJ and I have spent the last several evenings reading through old posts about him and he is thoroughly enjoying it. Last night, when I was reading the story about when he was six and put “research chromosomes” on his to-do list, he laughed and laughed and then got thoughtful. “How come I don’t remember any of this?”

“I don’t know. Probably because you were small. But I don’t remember a lot of these things either unless I write them down.” I think AJ wishes he could hang out with his younger self, or at least the younger self as I describe him. I’m not reading him the posts about tantrums and whining, nor am I reading the posts where I’m on the edge of a nervous breakdown. But now I’m thinking that I should try to pull together some of these stories into a book for AJ. I think he would like being able to read it himself whenever he wanted to.

But that’s going to have to wait for my to-do list to get shorter. I’m getting down to the wire here. My posting is likely to be sporadic over the next couple of weeks. On the plus side, there should be no shortage of material, especially if you’re getting tired of hearing me rant about the school district or talk about how busy I am. I know I’m getting tired of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 8:41 am

    I was thinking the other day about how being needed for so many things when my children were younger drove me to distraction; how I felt like there wasn’t enough of me for all the needs. And now, suddenly, they don’t need me for much and that’s driving me to distraction because I stretched my patience and the amount of time I budgeted every day and now they don’t usually need it and I haven’t reclaimed it all because occasionally there are days when they really need me, like yesterday when I had to rescue my oldest who had left the headlights on all day–for the second time this school year. Even while I was irritated, I was conscious that it’s nice when you can fix a teenager’s problem so easily….kind of easily.
    Anyway, what I meant to say is the usual platitude about how it won’t be like this too much longer.

  2. March 24, 2011 12:36 pm

    Perhaps you should write about the whining and irritating things he does… but don’t publish them if you don’t want to. They you can still come back to compile stories for him sometime.

    I have a video of (part of) a nasty tantrum. While I remember that those tantrums were part of daily life, I also know that in this particular one he was screaming at me to turn off the camera. So I feel badly when I come across it. But I’m still glad I have it.

Leave a Reply

