Skip to content

Ten

March 25, 2011

Before heading out to start my million and one last-minute errands, I wanted to wish my dad and my son both a very happy birthday. AJ is ten. Double digits. How did that happen?

I was thinking this morning about the last time I remember AJ being in school on his birthday — it usually falls during spring break. It was the year he turned 3. While he was at preschool, we decorated the house. And set his presents in the kitchen. The pile was enormous because the things he got were large. My parents gave him a rug with roads on to drive his toy cars on and a cash register full of play money. We got him a tricycle.

This year’s haul fits in my desk drawer, which, if you’d ever seen the amount of stuff that normally lives in my desk drawer, would give you some indication of just how small things are. His primary gift is a tiny mp3 player, which I can completely hide in my two cupped hands. The bigger the kid, the smaller (and more expensive) the gifts.

I am heading out this morning to a goodbye breakfast with the mother of AJ’s good friend C. We’ll see them again at AJ’s party this afternoon. And tomorrow they move. We are all very sad about this. AJ and C have been in class together since they were in kindergarten. They were the only two kids in his grade in the gifted program, back when we had one. They’ve been in Cub Scouts together for years — C’s mom was AJ’s den leader. They’ve been on sports teams together. They did their science fair project together last year. They will be greatly missed.

After that, I need to suck it up and go find a bathing suit. Yes, it’s a whole morning of things I don’t want to do. Hopefully the afternoon will be more fun!

I’ll most likely be offline for a couple of days as we head beachward.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    March 25, 2011 10:44 am

    A very happy birthday to AJ! I was having that same conversation – the bigger the kid, the smaller the gifts – with my boss the other day. She has two teenaged sons. We talked about how expensive those tiny gifts are and it made me wish Dusty and Red would just play with Barbies for the rest of their life until our rooms are filled with Barbie shoes and purses. 🙂

    Have a great time at the beach. Looks like I might be driving home in the snow on Sunday. I won’t even bother to tell you how I feel about that. Just run all the curse words you can think of through your mind in a continuous loop. That’ll at least scratch the surface.

  2. March 26, 2011 9:40 am

    I will never again buy a bathing suit except from Lands’ End. Online, and on sale.

  3. March 26, 2011 9:41 am

    And, Happy Birthday AJ and Happy Birth Memory Day, Mom. (Moms should get more credit on birthdays- we did the work!)

  4. March 27, 2011 3:40 pm

    Lands End (like every other store on earth) does not have my size left at sale time, but I never buy suits anywhere else, either.

    I’m laughing about the small present thing, because for the most part, Walker’s 15th birthday presents were small…except for the tall bookshelf we just bought him at the Pittsburgh IKEA for all the chess books he got for the birthday and that he’s accumulated in the last year.

Leave a Reply

