Skip to content

A melody I hope to sing

April 11, 2011

It was nice to wake up in my own house this morning, although I seriously missed being greeted by a sleepy baby in the morning saying, “Hi!” After 5 weeks of living out of my travel kit, I finally unpacked my toiletries. There was stuff to clean, laundry to wash and groceries to buy. I had to make a vet appointment for the ailing cat an buy a whole lot of cleaning supplies and air freshener to deal with her illness. And I had to buy some bras. TMI? Maybe. I actually went and got fitted for the first time in a long while and let me tell you, it was an excellent decision and am now the proud owner of some fancy underwear made in Belgium that actually fits and I feel like I just lost 10 pounds. The place I went for the fitting was where this incident happened, so I had vaguely considered assuming a pseudonym or maybe a disguise before purchasing. But I was pleased to discover that the proprietress didn’t remember me at all. And also that there were no bloomers in sight. I was slightly less pleased about so much talk of “the girls.” But I’m also not sure of what term would have been any better. Boobs? Knockers? Hooters? Bazoongas? Bodacious tatas?

The afternoon turned out to be warm and sunny, so I walked up to AJ’s school to meet him for the first time in ages. I wanted to make sure he didn’t want to join chess club today — he’s had a conflict on Mondays all year that just went away. But he said he’d rather start in the fall so I collected his belongings and let him play on the playground with his friends on the warm spring day.

AJ seems to have assumed two of the good friends of this buddy who recently moved away. AJ was friends with them before. I like both boys a lot. Mostly, though, I like listening to the three of them talk, trying to arrange things and work out plans. They are feeling out their independence, making decisions for themselves. Right up until they ask their moms for rides or snacks.

This evening I taught at School of Rock. I had several cancellations — it’s that time of year. But I made good use of my time, singing through some rep for tomorrow night’s vocal rehearsal/audition with my friend’s singing group that I’m still not sure if I want to/have time to join. I I’ve got to spend a little more time on the scat solo tomorrow. I learned the (super easy) piano part to Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy so I could sing along. And I started transcribing the string parts to Bonnie “Prince” Billy’s “Cursed Sleep,” which I can’t get out of my head. The guitar parts are too hard for me — too many barre chords. But the string parts are pretty and I’m hoping I can con some superior guitarist to play it with me. Here it is, in case you’re interested. I’m not such a fan of the video, though.

I played through my Biber sonata and did some more woodshedding on GNR’s “Sweet Child O’ Mine.” Apparently my boss heard me practicing and was chatting up the drum teacher about it. It’s one of his favorite songs and he wants to try to play it together at some point. Which could be fun if I can ever learn the damned thing. This is the arrangement I’m working on:

It’s challenging. But I am very much enjoying all this music making.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 7:40 am

    I love fiddling because it sounds like a one-man band! Wow!
    My daughter and I went to a department store and bought some new bras this weekend. We were appreciating the fact that we are not so well-endowed that we have to wear them under winter layers, and that we don’t have to get anyone else to tell us how they should fit. There are advantages to being flat-chested that I never suspected in 8th grade.

  2. April 12, 2011 8:54 am

    I went for professional help after babies. I inflated hugely both times and felt like I had unfilled water balloons after they were weaned. TMI? Probably. But a good bra is nothing to scoff at.

    I think the last time I saw an Oprah (ten years ago?) she had a selection of women in the audience fitted for proper bras and the before and afters were amazing, especially in the heavier women.

  3. April 12, 2011 9:01 am

    I love that about fiddling too, Jeanne, and especially about this arrangement. One of the things that interests me is the way the melody is hidden in double and triple stops on the page. Sightreading through it (a slow and treacherous process), I was constantly discovering the tune weaving through in places where I didn’t expect to find it. I will also say that while parts are very difficult, the parts that sound the most difficult are mostly much easier to play than you would think.

    It really is stunning the difference well-fitting clothes of any kind make. I think that Oprah show must have been a big deal because it is mentioned every time I set foot into a lingerie department. And Jeanne, should you ever demand more personalized service, the place I went is a few doors down from the place we had brunch at Christmas.

  4. freshhell permalink
    April 12, 2011 9:53 am

    Note to Self: go back to Nordstroms and get new bras. Sigh. THIS is what I need a wife for.

  5. April 12, 2011 10:51 am

    1. Wow — I really like the GNR. 2. I desperately need new bras, too. Something happened to me through having two kids and I now have the sort of bosom someone’s elderly pioneering grandmother should have. Ugh.

  6. April 12, 2011 10:57 am

    About the other video, I can tell you that it looks like California.

  7. April 12, 2011 11:39 am

    Readersguide, I’m sure you’re right about the video. I think he lives in the L.A. area.

Trackbacks

  1. 30 songs in (almost) 30 days: day 27 « spynotes

Leave a Reply

