Skip to content

Happy Little Working Song

April 28, 2011

I’m tied up with multiple job applications going out today, an important form to write for AJ’s school in which I will ask for gifted ed that the school won’t be able to provide, and a chapter I’m trying to complete by next Wednesday. So far I managed to just about finish the first application (I am having to retype a document that has vanished from my computer from a hard copy, but other than that I’m done) and write 1000 words on a project that really could have waited until later. Am I feeling swamped? Yes. Am I kind of enjoying it? Yes. Amazingly enough, yes.

I love Thursdays because I’ve just finished my teaching for the week with my longest evening (yesterday, thanks to a couple of makeups, I taught lessons for 5 hours straight). I get up and know I have the whole day ahead of me. It’s always my day to check things off my list. Today I am camped out in my favorite coffee shop with my second free refill of the day — she never lets me pay for anything but the first one, but I always stick the cost of a cup of coffee in the tip jar. It’s the least I can do when she gives me free office space. Also, the coffee is great. The guy who was making business calls on speakerphone in the corner has finally left (to make matters worse, his ringtone was “Bad to the Bone”). I had trouble not wishing he would get hit by a bus on the way out the door. I am not gracious about people invading my personal space with their bad manners. But now it’s me and two other people typing away. Perfect.

Tonight I get to take AJ to the middle school he may or may not be attending next year, depending on the resolution of a $2.5 million discrepancy in our school district budget, to register for band. He is very excited, even after I told him I was pretty sure he wasn’t actually going to be able to pick up his trombone tonight. Is it wrong that I’m looking forward to having a brass instrument to try in the house? It’s the only thing I’ve never attempted to play. And trombone is definitely my favorite. If I learn nothing but how to play sad trombone and Peanuts adult sounds, I’ll be happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 6:47 pm

    “Wmamp, wmamp, wmamp, wmamp, wmamp.”

    (The best I can do to imitate the adults in Peanuts.)

  2. April 29, 2011 7:03 am

    glissando is the truest joy of tromboning

  3. freshhell permalink
    April 29, 2011 8:22 am

    I hope you’ll include the ability to do the Peanuts adult voice on your future job apps. That’s an important skill.

Leave a Reply

