Skip to content

M is for the Many Things She Gave You

May 8, 2011

My Mother’s Day present from AJ, along with a book of coupons he made to be redeemed for chores:

Mom, you’re funny and creative
Your hair’s a shade of brown
You’re thoughtful and your eyes are blue
You never make me frown.

You go and watch my sports games
You feed me what I like
You always take me places
We even go on hikes.

But I don’t like it when you nag me
And embarrass me at games
But you are always funny
And I love you just the same.

You’re a great violin teacher
And you like to read
You’re interested in music
And you always do good deeds.

I love you,
And you love me, Mom,
Even when I’m annoying
Your love is never gone.

I figure if I’m embarrassing him, I must be doing something right.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms out there, especially to my own. I love you, Mom!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lass permalink
    May 8, 2011 5:46 pm

    Oh, I love this! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  2. May 8, 2011 7:44 pm

    Very sweet!

  3. May 9, 2011 6:10 am

    My letter (1st grader) says “I love you. You are very nice to me (exept for sometimes you get mad and arent nice) but usally you are very nice like a nice nice space Alien.”

    Do they HAVE to mention the nagging part?

  4. May 9, 2011 7:56 am

    I keep hoping they’ll appreciate the nagging later. I’m pretty sure I did. What could be nicer than a nice nice space Alien? That’s fantastic.

  5. freshhell permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:57 am

    I like that your hair is a shade of brown. 🙂

  6. eleanorio permalink
    May 9, 2011 1:07 pm

    Belated happy Mother’s Day, Harriet!

  7. Cranky permalink
    May 10, 2011 8:13 am

    Great poem and very funny. Was Mr Spy involved?

  8. May 10, 2011 8:24 am

    Freshhell, I like that too. I think, though, that I’m grateful that he didn’t specify what shade. Thanks, eleanorio, and the same to you. And Cranky, no, he worked on this at school. I suspect there were some writing prompts involved, but I haven’t got the details.

Leave a Reply

