Skip to content

Run home

May 13, 2011

Having lost a couple of days of work this week, there was rather a lot to do today. I sent in the application for a job that is probably my dream job. It’s a blend of academic and not-for-profit work (my background); it would not require moving; and it’s at a place I know well and love to go to. It’s also an incredibly big long shot. If anyone contacts me, I will be extremely surprised. Still, it’s fun to think about. I did some writing. I’m behind, behind, behind. But I’ll try to catch up this weekend.

There were also groceries to buy. A vanload of things to haul to the charity shop. There were also packages and letters to mail, but I didn’t quite get to that (Sorry Claudia, Violet and Jeanne — coming soon, I swear). Tomorrow, I hope. Tonight AJ has a baseball game. And tomorrow AJ has a baseball game. And Sunday AJ has a baseball game. And is it supposed to rain for every one of those games? Why yes it is. This is the big frustration of baseball season. Basketball is unaffected by the weather. Football they play in any weather but lightning. Snow? Put on your game face. Hail? That’s what your helmet is for! Dark of night? What are you, a sissy?

Ahem.

But baseball is very wishy-washy about the weather. “Well, we might play, but we’re not sure. Please check our website every 30 seconds for the most up to date information. If we remember to post it. We might be too busy hiding in our La-z-boy filled dens to check. I mean, you wouldn’t want us to get your socks wet, would you? There are many ways in which I prefer baseball to football, but this is not one of them. I like a good set of rules.

I am reminded of George Carlin’s comparison of football and baseball:

But baseball has been a lot of fun to watch this year. AJ has been pitching shutouts. And hitting home runs. It makes it more exciting, even when his team loses (which is most of the time). Tonight we’ll be bundling up. Although it was 76 at 9 am, it is now 55. This has been the coldest baseball season I can remember.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    May 13, 2011 5:37 pm

    I do like a good package! You should get right on that. Also, I’m very glad my kids play zero sports. I think the schedule of any one of them would drive me mad. Girl Scouts is bad enough. Plus birthday parties. Chorus, etc. PLENTY! Times two kids. Of course, there may be a time when Red joins the drama club and plays the leading roles (“STELLAAAAA!”) in all of them and has to be present at every rehearsal but I’m chosing not to think about that.

  2. May 13, 2011 8:47 pm

    That video just gave us a great laugh- I hadn’t heard it in ages. Baseball is our life right now. Two boys, two leagues. Two weeknights (random) each and one Saturday. I’m grateful that we can walk to the ballpark, but this spring has been kicking me in the butt. Playoffs for both boys now- if it doesn’t rain tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

