Skip to content

I’m a minor player in my own life story

May 16, 2011

After freakishly warm weather this week, the pendulum swung the other way for the weekend. I sat through AJ’s baseball games on Friday evening and Saturday in 40-degree weather with drizzle (enough to make you wet, not enough to cancel the games) and high winds. It’s amazing we didn’t all come down with raging cases of pneumonia. Thankfully today’s game was cancelled, supposedly because of overnight rain, but we suspect that everyone was just sick of freezing to death.

AJ’s team lost both games, but AJ played amazingly well in both of them. It’s been so fun to watch him this year. He’s like a different player. He’s always been a solid fielder, but this year he’s his team’s star hitter and star pitcher as well. He’s hit a home run in every one of the last 5 games. In Saturday’s game, he hit a grand slam. Most of the innings he pitched were shut-outs.

After we got back from the game, we were so frozen, that we didn’t get much accomplished the rest of the day. Mostly we sat around and shivered. AJ and I went and picked up Mrs. Stein’s pawprint from the vet. They made it into a little heart-shaped clay ornament with a tiny green fish with her name on it, strung through with a brown and green polka dotted ribbon. When we got home, we found that the vet had also sent us a condolences card, signed by each and every member of the staff. Vet, you are a class act. AJ was carrying around the pawprint for a while. We’re not quite sure what we’re going to do with it. Do we hang it on the wall now? Do we put it away with the Christmas ornaments and hang it on the tree? The topic is still open to debate.

Saturday night, Mr. Spy and I watched 24 Hour Party People, a biopic about Tony Wilson and the history Factory Records and The Hacienda. It was extremely entertaining, and I am left with many dialog clips stuck in my head. This means I am currently inclined to shout “Pogo like a Bastard” at random moments. I am also in search of a chance to call someone “the musical equivalent of Che Guevara” (in the film directed at the dead body of Ian Curtis) I will let you know if I find an opportunity to do so.

Yesterday’s baseball game was cancelled before I even made it up for breakfast, which was lovely, because it was not only freezing cold, but the winds had kicked up to gale force. This meant that I got to spend the morning playing Portal 2 with AJ. Now I am not normally a video game person, but I like this one. It’s about physics. And it has a lot of jokes about music. And it’s funny as hell. AJ is finding it both really fun and frustrating in turns, so it was actually helpful to be working as a team. We managed to escape the house in the afternoon when AJ’s uncle came to visit. We took a drive to a small local museum in a park about a half an hour from home. It wasn’t terribly exciting — it’s a nice little museum about local history and geography, but we’ve been there many times before and there is only so much to see — but it got us out, which was useful.

Today I am trying hard to finish a chapter and turn it in. This one’s a monster — almost long enough to be its own dissertation (200 pages and counting). On the plus side, there’s only one more significant chapter to go plus revisions when this one’s done. Time to buckle down.

How was your weekend?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    May 16, 2011 9:41 am

    I cannot imagine still being that cold in mid-May. I got everything planted in the garden. Wrote briefly, sort of, about my weekend. Didn’t post a link on FB, though. Not even sure today’s post will remain there. Once my brain clears, I’ll write about the good things that happened.

  2. May 16, 2011 9:47 am

    I would hang up the pawprint. We put the one from our vet on the grave of the cat, up in our back woods.

    It’s chilly here today. But isn’t it fun to watch your kid play sports when he’s one of the best players?

    Hope the buckling down goes well.

  3. May 16, 2011 12:26 pm

    Had CD’s parents here- lost both playoff little league games, took them to the Atl Symphony w/o kids, went to our ballpark’s day at a GA Tech baseball game (in the cold) and actually relaxed a bit. I’m guiltily pleased that baseball is basically over. School is out on Friday and I am so, so looking forward to summer with my guys. I’ve promised them that Monday they can wear their pj’s all day, eat anytime they’re hungry and play with toys at their leisure.

    Pook got a Mindstorm kit for his 10th (he chipped in) and he is just itching to get into it, but I think it’ll have to be next week.

    I just pulled out my plans for our big Yellowstone drive and am trying to decide how to get home from WY to GA driving south. If you couldn’t do much of the southeast, what would you choose? I haven’t interested my husband in this planning, but I need someone else to pull out a US map and help me figure this out.

  4. May 16, 2011 12:30 pm

    Well, clearly you should come through Chicago!

  5. May 16, 2011 12:31 pm

    Seriously, though, my parents have done that drive, ending just a little north of you. I’ll see what they have to say.

  6. May 16, 2011 1:31 pm

    If Chicago were on the way, I’d stop in a heartbeat. Our boys would have a great time together. Sometimes I forget they don’t know each other.

    Pook has his own email acct b/c we were hoping it would interest him in writing- for the practice of writing coherently and of course typing. I just need someone to write to him regularly now! Would AJ be interested in that as a summer project of sorts? An “email pal”?

  7. May 16, 2011 1:35 pm

    MKM, that would be great. AJ’s class had penpals this year in school and he’s loved it. And he definitely needs some motivation to work on his writing. We’re not out of school until June 7 and he’s pretty busy until then, but after that, let’s do it!

  8. May 16, 2011 3:00 pm

    I ran it by him and he thinks the idea “might be cool”- which is about as excited as he gets usually. I’ll send his adrs. Topics: books, baseball, lego, music/band (piano & sax here), Pokemon (new interest)

Leave a Reply

